Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Mark Lanegan - Houston Publishing Demos 2002

 (+ Download Code)


Ipecac Recordings



Product No.:
AIPE 171
UPC: 689230017110
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Album download included, offer subject to expiration

In 2002, The Screaming Trees had recently disbanded and Lanegan was in the early years of his solo offerings (at this point he had released a mere five solo albums). The songs on Houston (Publishing Demos 2002) were written, recorded, then shelved. Until now, with the release of this 12-song collection of previously unreleased demos via Ipecac Recordings.

"When I first started, I wrote The Winding Sheet, and I didn’t know how to play guitar, but I had an offer to make a record, so I made up singing parts. I was working in a warehouse, and at the end of the day I would come up with a vocal melody, and I would go home. I had a guitar chord book, and I would find the chords that went underneath the vocal melody, so I was really doing it backwards.

"Then when I had those songs, Mike (Johnson, collaborator) came in, and wrote intros, and middle sections, and outros, and all of the other stuff that you need in a song (laughs) besides the singing part. Then of course later, Mike would often right entire songs musically, and I would write the words and singing, that happened a lot also. He’s one of my all time favorite musicians. I made a covers record a couple years ago, and he came over from France where he lives now, and played on it with me, and it was a great time." — Mark Lanegan

1. No Cross
2. Two Horses
3. When It’s In You (Methamphetamine Blues)
4. High Life
5. I’ll Go Where You Send Me
6. Grey Goes Black
7. The Primitives
8. Blind
9. Halcyon Daze
10. Nothing Much To Mention
11. A Suite For Dying Love
12. Way To Tomorrow

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it