Ulster Orchestra - Paine Symphony No. 2 - Oedipus Tyrannus Prelude - Poseidon and Amphitrite, An Ocean Fantasy


2xHD - Naxos



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.70GB Total play length: 1:07:46

Cover art and liner notes included

Technical Notes:

From 2xHD "This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 24bits/96kHz, or 88.2 kHz resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier and (if needed) will be EQ’d before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable. DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal."

The late 19th century witnessed unprecedented musical growth in the United States, and it is impossible to imagine a Copland, an Ives or even a Gershwin without the pioneering groundwork of the ‘Boston Six’, of whom John Knowles Paine was the senior member. Favorite among his own works, Paine’s Second Symphony was described on its New York première as “a serious, important and totally beautiful work.” His Prelude to the tragic play Oedipus Tyrannus was an immediate hit, while An Ocean Fantasy was his last orchestral piece.

1. Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 34, In the Spring: I. Introduction: Adagio sostenuto – Allegro ma non troppo (Departure of Winter – Awakening of Nature)
2. Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 34, In the Spring: II. Scherzo: Allegro (May-Night Fantasy: Scherzo: Allegro)
3. Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 34, In the Spring: III. Adagio (A Romance of Springtime)
4. Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 34, In the Spring: IV. Allegro giojoso (The Glory of Nature)
5. Oedipus tyrannus, Op. 35: Prelude
6. Poseidon and Amphitrite, An Ocean Fantasy, Op. 44

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it