Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Drinkall-Baker Duo - 20th Century Masterpieces for Cello & Piano


Wilson Audiophile Recordings



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.10GB Total play length: 53:48

Cover art and liner notes included

Technical Notes:
From 2xHD "Description of equipment and processes used for Master Tape transfers in Dave Wilson's Music Room:

Bruce Brown flew from Seattle to Provo to work hand-in-hand with Dave and Daryl Wilson. Each Master Tape was inspected, cleaned, and treated with Last #9 and #10 preservatives. All of the Master Tapes were baked to reformulate the binding. This was done in an incubator at 135 degrees and then they were left to cool back down to room temperature. All splices were inspected and repaired, if necessary.

Each transfer was executed on the UltraMaster, a one-of-a-kind Studer A80 designed and built by John Curl with Custom electronics.

Each Master Tape was stored by Wilson audiophile “tails-out” in which Puget Sound Studios did a library wind to the take-up reel. All levels were set according to included EQ sheets and each 1KHz tone was further set at precisely 1KHz, via a custom Vari-speed adjustment. This provided the exact speed the Master Tapes were recorded at.

A total of five different Analog-to-Digital converters were used to provide samples for the Wilsons to evaluate. Ultimately an EMM Labs ADC-8 Mk IV, custom modified by Andreas Koch, was chosen by Dave and Daryl Wilson for the transfers from the UltraMaster using the original Master Tapes into a Sonoma DSD workstation for capture and editing. Monitoring from the Sonoma DSD workstation was routed though a modified Playback Designs MPS-5 via USB-X with Light Harmonic USB !cable. All DSD files were transferred into a Merging Technologies Pyramix DSD/DXD Masscore workstation for sample rate conversion, format conversion, and meta-data tagging. The Pyramix Hepta filter was used for conversion to PCM. Files were then listened to for quality assurance."


New from Wilson Audiophile Recordings. Roger Drinkall and Dian Baker have emerged as one of America's leading duos. With an extensive repertoire that stretches from Beethoven, Chopin and Saint-Saens to Kodaly and Weill, they render chamber music and orchestral concert with equal eloquence and artistry. They have played hundreds of concerts worldwide, including performances in Europe, Central and South America, Asia, the Middle East and the Far East as well as many cities in the United States.

Recorded in December 1992 at Maurice Abravanel Hall in Salt Lake City, Utah. Recorded on Wilson's Ultramaster Recorder, built by John Curl, at 30 ips, and using a spaced pair of Schoeps microphones driving vaccum tube electronics, the recording has a close perspective that heightens transparency and engagement.

1. Pampeana No. 2, Op. 21
2. Cello Sonata in D Minor: I. Prologue
3. Cello Sonata in D Minor: II. Serenade
4. Cello Sonata in D Minor: III. Finale
5. 14 Songs, Op. 34: No. 14. Vocalise (arr. for cello and piano)
6. Cello Sonata, Op. 6: I. Allegro ma non troppo
7. Cello Sonata, Op. 6: II. Adagio - Presto-di nuovo - Adagio
8. Cello Sonata, Op. 6: III. Allegro appassionato
9. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 1. Adagio
10. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 2. Andante sostenuto
11. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 3. Larghetto
12. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 4. Lento
13. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 5. Andante tranquillo
14. 6 Studies in English Folksong: No. 6. Allegro vivace

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it