Robert Earl Keen - Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions

 (Limited Edition + Download Code)





Product No.:
ADUA 1685
UPC: 803020168510
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram double LP, mastered for vinyl

Album download included

Mention the name Robert Earl Keen, and several descriptive terms spring to mind — Texas singer-songwriter, career artist, brilliant storyteller, sardonic humorist, poet of the strange and familiar. And now with the release of his latest album, Happy Prisoner, there is what may seem a surprising addition to that list — bluegrass singer.

"I've had a lifelong love of bluegrass," says Keen. "I've always had an affinity for music that I felt like you'd listen to in your living room. Music that felt real. My mom liked the old hillbilly music, and as a kid, I used to fall asleep listening to an 8-track tape of Jimmie Rodgers' greatest hits. When I was in 9th grade, one of my first dates was taking a girl to a bluegrass festival. That sounds crazy for someone in Texas. But I was fascinated with that music, even though it wasn't part of the gulf coast at all. When I started playing, my first guitar hero was Norman Blake. In college, I had a bluegrass band called the Front Porch Boys, went to fiddle contests, learned a jillion fiddle and old-timey songs. My whole education in music started with bluegrass."

"And that's partly where the album title comes from," he continues. "I've been listening to it forever, I love it, and so I feel like I'm something of a happy prisoner of bluegrass."



Side 1
1. Hot Corn, Cold Corn
2. 52 Vincent Black Lightning
3. Footprints in the Snow
4. 99 Years For One Dark Day (feat. Peter Rowan)
5. East Virginia Blues

Side 2
6. Poor Ellen Smith
7. Long Black Veil
8. This World Is Not My Home
9. T For Texas (feat. Lyle Lovett)

Side 3
10. Peter Rowan Intro
11. Walls Of Time
12. White Dove
13. Old Home Place
14. Twisted Laurel
15. Wayfaring Stranger (feat. Natalie Maines)

Side 4: 5 extra songs not available on CD!
16. Little Log Cabin Home On The Hill
17. Dark As A Dungeon
18. I’m Troubled, I’m Troubled
19. 14 Carat Mind
20. Steam Powered Aeroplane

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it