Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Leo Kottke - 6 And 12 String Guitar

 (Limited Edition)


Analogue Productions



Product No.:
AAPF 1024-45
UPC: 753088102479

45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 200 Gram

45 RPM  

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

This release comes with one disc in the standard jacket and the other disc in a plain white jacket

200-gram, 45 RPM double LP

Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering!

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

"Best-ever sound on vinyl." — from a rave review of Leo Kottke — 6 & 12 String Guitar by Franz Schoeler in Germany's Stereo magazine, May 2015

Here's a gem from Analogue Productions that captures Leo Kottke's eclectic, innovative style the way it's never been heard on vinyl to date! This 200-gram, 45 RPM beauty plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings sounds fantastic.

Leo Kottke's wide-release debut came about after he sent a cassette to John Fahey's Takoma label. Not suprisingly, it recalls Fahey's work in a number of respects: the synthesis of numerous influences from blues, pop, classical and folk styles, the weirdly titled instrumentals, even the tongue-in-cheek liner notes.

6- & 12-String Guitar is the album that gave notice to the world, or the part of it that pays attention to steel-string guitars, that 24-year-old Leo Kottke was remarkable. Known to aficionados as “the armadillo album,” for its cover illustration, the collection captured Kottke’s eclectic, innovative style in all its crispness, melodic vitality and rhythmic urgency.

"For decades, Leo Kottke would inspire generations of fingerpicking acoustic guitarists (and help pave the way for New Age and contemporary instrumental music), but this 1969 album is the one that started it all. Kottke's brilliant debut was released, fittingly, on John Fahey's Takoma label. Showing the influence of Fahey himself (and Takoma labelmate Robbie Basho), Kottke performs impossibly difficult solo compositions that meld blues, bluegrass, and jazz techniques. Whether surefooted and quick ("The Driving of the Year Nail," "Jack Fig," "The Fisherman") or slow and reflective ("Ojo," "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring"), Kottke's instrumental work is simply awe-inspiring. He'd forge an entire career out of this music and eventually incorporate singing onto his albums, but this gem is Kottke at his very best. Essential."—

Side 1
1. The Driving of the Year Nail
2. The Last of the Arkansas Greyhounds
3. Ojo
4. Crow River Waltz
5. The Sailor’s Grave on the Prairie
6. Vaseline Machine Gun
7. Jack Fig

Side 2
8. Watermelon
9. Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring
10. The Fisherman
11. The Tennessee Toad
12. Busted Bicycle
13. The Brain of the Purple Mountain
14. Coolidge Rising

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Disappointing packaging

posted on 07/13/2016
3 Stars
Reviewer: Minn Mark
The pressing and sound quality are as expected for the $55 package. BUT the packaging, Yuck ! ! Two sleeves? Why not a nice gatefold with some additional info or pictures a la Blue Note reissues or other titles at this price. Very disappointed in the packaging for such a seminal title fro this genius guitarist.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.