Can - The Lost Tapes

 (Limited Edition - Booklet + Poster)

Can - The Lost Tapes


Mute Records



Product No.:
AMUT 69543
UPC: 724596954317
Pre Order

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5
Note: 180 Gram
Arrival Date To Be Announced


or Add to Wishlist

Can — The Lost Tapes, vinyl box set

Includes five 180-gram LPs

28-page, 12-inch booklet, with 24-inch poster included

Mute and Spoon are delighted to announce that, due to phenomenal demand, Can's The Lost Tapes will be released as a five LP box set on 180-gram vinyl.

The Lost Tapes was curated by Irmin Schmidt and Daniel Miller, compiled by Irmin Schmidt and Jono Podmore, and edited by Jono Podmore. The vinyl issue of The Lost Tapes comes with a 24-inch square poster and a 28-page booklet with sleeve notes by Irmin Schmidt and Ian Harrison.

As is now known, when the legendary Can studio in Weilerswist was sold to the German Rock N Pop Museum, they bought everything, including the army mattresses that covered the walls for sound protection, and relocated it to Gronau.

While dismantling the studio, master tapes were found and stored in the Spoon archive. With barely legible labeling, no one was sure what was on these until Irmin Schmidt and long time collaborator Jono Podmore started to go through more than 50 hours of music.

What they found was years of archived material, not outtakes, but rather tracks which had been shelved for a variety of reasons — soundtracks to films that were never released and tracks that didn't make it onto the final versions of albums due to space.

Irmin Schmidt explains "Obviously the tapes weren't really lost, but were left in the cupboards of the studio archives for so long everybody just forgot about them. Everybody except Hildegard, who watches over Can and its work like the dragon over the gold of the Nibelungen and doesn't allow forgetting."

The final cut of tracks, dating from 1968-1977, features studio material recorded at Schloss Nörvenich and Can Studio, Weilerswist with the Can line up of Holger Czukay on bass, Michael Karoli on guitars, Jaki Liebezeit on drums and Irmin Schmidt on keyboards, and on most tracks, vocals from Malcolm Mooney or Damo Suzuki.

Can was formed by ex-student of Stockhausen Irmin Schmidt, who, fired by the sounds of Jimi Hendrix and Frank Zappa abandoned his career in classic music to form a group which could utilise and transcend all boundaries of ethnic, electronic experimental and modern classical music.

Can's influence is well known and far-reaching and the impact they made on music is felt today as keenly as it ever has been. They themselves have always been impossible to classify and reflecting this, the scope of artists who in recent years have cited Can as a major influence is varied from John Lydon to Radiohead, The Fall to Portishead.


1. Millionenspiel
2. Waiting For The Streetcar
3. When Darkness Comes
4. Graublau
5. The Loop

1. Your Friendly Neighbourhood Whore
2. True Story
3. The Agreement
4. Midnight Sky
5. Evening All Day
6. Deadly Doris
7. Desert
8. Blind Mirror Surf
9. Oscura Primavera

1. Spoon - Live
2. A Swan Is Born
3. Messer, Scissors, Fork and Light
4. Abra Cada Braxas

1. Godzilla Fragment
2. On The Way To Mother Sky
3. Dead Pigeon Suite
4. Midnight Men
5. One More Saturday Night - Live
6. Barnacles

1. Networks Of Foam
2. Private Nocturnal
3. Alice
4. Mushroom - Live
5. E.F.S. 108
6. Bubble Rap

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it