Blue Mitchell - Blue's Moods


Analogue Productions (Fantasy)



Product No.:
AJAZ 9336

45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Stereo

45 RPM    

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Blue Mitchell possessed one of the truly individual trumpet sounds: richly melodic but always strong — clearly in the tradition of Clifford Brown, but very much his own voice. The series of Riverside albums that established him on the jazz scene, beginning at the end of the 1950s, usually presented him in at least three-horn ensembles; this was his only quartet set. Fully in the spotlight, Mitchell moves most effectively through a widely varied repertoire that covers standards, blues, originals and a Charlie Parker classic. There is flawless rhythm support from all-stars Wynton Kelly and Sam Jones and drummer Roy Brooks (Blue’s bandmate during part of his many years with the Horace Silver Quintet).

1. I'll Close My Eyes
2. Avars
3. Scrapple From The Apple
4. Kinda Vague
5. Sir John
6. When I Fall In Love
7. Sweet Pumpkin
8. I Wish I Knew

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Wonderful recording from great jazz trumpeter

posted on 09/08/2010
5 Stars
Reviewer: dmeeker
Reading a number of jazz album reviews over the years, I've more than once come across a reviewer bagging a particular recording session because the jazz soloist in question does not have a good sparring partner to "enliven the session", etc. Well, that's all good and everything, but I've always thought that sort of comment revealed a bias from the reviewer, who seemed to be looking for something "lively" instead of something contemplative. Well, here is a quartet session that employs no sparring partner and succeeds brilliantly, perhaps for the opposite reasons. As for the mastering: all I can say is this was one of the first 45 RPM Fantasy reissues I bought and the one that convinced me originally the high price tag is worth the product. Simply amazing sound. You can hear Mitchell literally breathe through the trumpet and see (actually see) him move closer to and away from the microphone as you listen. That sort of sonic stage-depth is what these reissues are all about. Awesome.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.