The Beatles - Anthology 2





Product No.:
APAR 44816
UPC: 724383444816
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3
Note: Import


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Preowned Vinyl Record
Sealed US Pressing

The Beatles Anthology 2, the second release in the historic trilogy that charts the career of The Beatles, was originally issued in March 1996. The 3LP-set features 45 unreleased tracks including fascinating outtakes, first-takes and unheard songs from The Beatles' experimental years. Anthology 2 spans recordings from February 1965 to February 1968, a time when the breadth of The Beatles' imagination gave birth to such seminal albums as Help!, Rubber Soul, Revolver, Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and Magical Mystery Tour.

Anthology 2 includes "Real Love," the second song from the much-reported reunion sessions of 1994-95 at which Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr came together in the studio for the first time in 25 years to record songs written, but never released by John Lennon. Like "Free As a Bird," the first from those sessions (included in Anthology 1), "Real Love" certainly highlights this set.

The three Anthology sets were designed to beat bootleggers at their own game. More than any other artist — more than Bob Dylan, more than Pink Floyd, more than Bruce Springsteen — the Beatles' outtakes, session scraps and tossed-off fragments were hoarded and cherished by collectors.

Still, Anthology posed itself as more than just a vault-clearing project (like Dylan's Bootleg Series). By chronologically lining up the band's earliest recordings (a cover of Buddy Holly‘s "That'll Be the Day" from 1958 when they were still known as the Quarrymen) to the last song they recorded together (fittingly, a remix of "The End"), the three volumes tell the story of the world's biggest pop group — the rise, the fall and everything in between.

The Anthology series stands as a comprehensive document of the second coming of rock & roll. The best of these tracks — some live versions, some fragments and others mere dialogue — reveal a side of the group's history that was left undocumented, at least officially, for more than a quarter-century.

1. Real Love
2. Yes It Is
3. I'm Down
4. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
5. If You've Got Trouble
6. That Means A Lot
7. Yesterday
8. It's Only Love
9. I Feel Fine
10. Ticket To Ride
11. Yesterday
12. Help!
13. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
14. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
15. I'm Looking Through You
16. 12-Bar Original
17. Tomorrow Never Knows
18. Got To Get You Into My Life
19. And Your Bird Can Sing
20. Taxman
21. Eleanor Rigby (Strings Only)
22. I'm Only Sleeping (Reheasal)
23. I'm Only Sleeping (Take 1)
24. Rock And Roll Music
25. She's A Woman
26. Strawberry Fields Forever (Demo Sequence)
27. Strawberry Fields Forever (Take 1)
28. Strawberry Fields Forever (Take 7 & Edit Piece)
29. Penny Lane
30. A Day In The Life
31. Good Morning Good Morning
32. Only A Northern Song
33. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! (Takes 1 And 2)
34. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! (Take 7)
35. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
36. Within You Without You (Instrumental)
37. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
38. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)
39. I Am The Walrus
40. The Fool On The Hill (Demo)
41. Your Mother Should Know
42. The Fool On The Hill (Take 4)
43. Hello, Goodbye
44. Lady Madonna
45. Across The Universe

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it