Various Artists - Hairspray: Soundtrack To The Motion Picture


Watertower Music



Product No.:
AWTT 39813
UPC: 794043190421
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

10th Anniversary release, on vinyl for the first time!

Gatefold double LP featuring the Grammy-nominated, platinum-selling soundtrack!

Features songs performed by cast members John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Zac Efron and more

Original peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200

In anticipation of the upcoming 10th Anniversary of New Line Cinema's feature film adaptation of the Tony Award-winning Broadway production of "Hairspray," WaterTower Music is releasing the Grammy-nominated, platinum-selling soundtrack on a double vinyl set for the first time ever. The film, produced by Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (85th, 86th, 87th Academy Awards [producers], "The Sound of Music Live!," "The Wiz"), and directed by Adam Shankman ("Disenchanted," "82nd Academy Awards [producer, choreographer]," "So You Think You Can Dance [judge])" features new and original material based on John Waters' 1988 cult classic film of the same name, and features a remarkable collection of film talent performing songs on camera, including John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Christopher Walken, Amanda Bynes, Brittany Snow, Zac Efron, & Elijah Kelley.

This new double vinyl configuration of the Hairspray soundtrack features custom metallic rainbow foil gatefold packaging, 19 songs from the film — including three original numbers created specifically for the film version of the hit Broadway musical — the original first single from the album, "Ladies' Choice," sung by Zac Efron, "New Girl In Town," performed by Brittany Snow, and "Come So Far," sung by Queen Latifah, Nikki Blonsky, Zac Efron, and Elijah Kelley. Also featured on the soundtrack are the songs "Good Morning Baltimore," "Welcome to the ‘60s," "Nicest Kids In Town," and "You Can't Stop The Beat," among others.

The album has achieved many milestones: Nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Soundtrack Recording, certified platinum by the RIAA, peaked at No. 2 on Billboard's top 200 chart, and remaining in the Top 10 for several weeks. The album also had the distinction of being Billboard's Top Independent Album of the year in 2007.
The Hairspray soundtrack is produced by Marc Shaiman and features music by Shaiman and lyrics by Scott Wittman and Shaiman. It features tracks mixed by Ed Cherney (Rolling Stones, Bette Midler) and Peter Mokran (Pussycat Dolls, Christina Aguilera).



Side 1
Good Morning Baltimore - Nikki Blonsky
The Nicest Kids In Town - James Marsden
It Takes Two - Zac Efron
(The Legend Of) Miss Baltimore Crabs - Michelle Pfeiffer
I Can Hear The Bells - Nikki Blonsky

Side 2
Ladies' Choice - Zac Efron
The New Girl In Town - Brittany Snow
Welcome To The 60's - Nikki Blonsky and John Travolta
Run And Tell That - Elijah Kelley
Big, Blonde and Beautiful - Queen Latifah

Side 3
Big, Blonde and Beautiful (Reprise) - John Travolta and Michelle Pfeiffer
(You're) Timeless To Me - John Travolta and Christopher Walken
I Know Where I've Been - Queen Latifah
Without Love - Zac Efron, Nikki Blonsky, Elijah Kelley and Amanda Bynes
(It's) Hairspray - James Marsden

Side 4
You Can't Stop The Beat - Nikki Blonsky, Zac Efron, Amanda Bynes, Elijah Kelley, John Travolta and Queen Latifah
Come So Far (Got So Far To Go) - Queen Latifah, Nikki Blonsky, Zac Efron and Elijah Kelley
Cooties - Aimee Allen
Mama, I'm A Big Girl Now - Ricki Lake, Marissa Jaret Winokur and Nikki Blonsky

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it