Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 1.90GB Total play length: 1:40:28

Cover art and liner notes included

Like his early hero Miles Davis, Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko has a gift for shaping great bands, and this one, formed in the worlds jazz capital, overflows with promise. The bass and drums team of Thomas Morgan and Gerald Cleaver is one of the most sensitive in contemporary improvising, and Cuban-born pianist David Virelles, inspired by ritual music as well as by Thelonious Monk and Andrew Hill, seems particularly well-attuned to the brooding darkness and sophisticated dread of Stankos free ballads. In the uptempo pieces all four players seem to enter new territory, with very exciting results. The double-album program of new Stanko compositions is inspired also by the poetry of Wis awa Symborska, the Polish poet, essayist and Nobel Laureate, who died in 2012. As Stanko writes in in the CD booklet, Reading Wis awa Szymborskas words gave me many ideas and insights. Meeting her and interacting with her poetry also gave impetus to this music, which I would like to dedicate, respectfully, to her memory.

1. Wislawa
2. Assassins
3. Metafizyka
4. Dernier Cri
5. Mikrokosmos
6. Song For H
7. Oni
8. April Story
9. Tutaj - Here
10. Faces
11. A Shaggy Vandal
12. Wislawa

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it