Miles Davis - Bootleg Series 4: Newport

 (8 LP + Booklet + Poster)


Music On Vinyl



Product No.:
AMOV 1500
EAN: 8718469540327

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 8
Note: 180 Gram

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

180-gram audiophile vinyl

8LP box set includes four hours of unreleased material from eight live festival performances

Printed innersleeves, 12-page booklet and poster included

Nominated as "Outstanding Jazz Album" by the 47th NAACP Image Awards in 2016!

Miles Davis' 20-year association as an artist at impresario George Wein's renowned Newport Jazz Festival is a thriving tradition. To celebrate the 60th anniversary of Miles' Newport Jazz debut, Music On Vinyl presents Miles Davis At Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4. The 8-LP box set comprises live festival performances by Miles' stellar band lineups in 1955, 1958, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, and 1975, in Newport, Rhode Island, New York City, Berlin, and Switzerland.

Miles Davis At Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4, was honored with a nomination in the "Outstanding Jazz Album" category for the 2016 NAACP Image Awards, in February 2016. The Image Awards honor outstanding people of color in film, television, music, and literature.

The newest entry in the critically-acclaimed Miles Davis Bootleg Series, contains hours of previously unreleased material. From Miles' debut performance at NJF in 1955 (a hastily arranged jam session featuring Thelonious Monk and Gerry Mulligan, that immediately led to the trumpeter's Columbia signing), to his final public performance of the '70s in 1975, the box set traces the ascendance of Miles' music to jazz superstar status.

The full-length concert performances alone of Miles' famed "Kind Of Blue" Sextet (with Cannonball Adderley, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb), and second great quintet in '66 and '67 (with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) represent templates that reverberate in jazz and popular music to this day.

LP 1
Side 1
1. Spoken Introductions By Duke Ellington And Gerry Mulligan
2. Hackensack
3. ‘Round Midnight
Side 2
4. Now’s The Time
5. Introduction By Willis Connover
6. Ah-Leu-Cha

LP 2
Side 3
1. Straight, No Chaser
2. Fran-Dance
Side 4
3. Two Bass Hit
4. Bye Bye Blackbird
5. The Theme

LP 3
Side 5
1. Gingerbread Boy
2. All Blues
Side 6
3. Stella By Starlight
4. R.J.
5. Seven Steps To Heaven
6. The Theme/Closing Announcement
7. Element/Closing Announcement

LP 4
Side 7
1. Spoken Introduction by Del Shields
2. Gingerbread Boy
3. Footprints
Side 8
4. ‘Round Midnight
5. So What
6. The Theme/Closing Announcement

LP 5
Side 9
1. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
2. Sanctuary
3. It’s About That Time/The Theme
Side 10
4. Band Warming Up/Voice Over Introduction
5. Turnaroundphrase
6. Tune In 5

LP 6
Side 11
1. Ife
2. Untitled Original
Side 12
3. Tune In 5
4. Mtume

LP 7
Side 13
1. Directions
2. What I Say
Side 14
3. Sanctuary
4. It’s About That Time

LP 8
Side 15
1. Bitches Brew
Side 16
2. Funky Tonk
3. Sanctuary

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it