Kenny Burrell - Midnight Blue

 (2012 Remaster)

Total download size: 842MB Total play length:35:52

Cover art and liner notes included

Midnight Blue is one of those recordswhere you just put it on, sit back and relax. Burrell and a great band including Stanley Turrentine on tenor sax, Bill English on drums, Ray Barretto on conga and Major Holley Jr. on bass lay down tunes including "Mule," "Soul Lament," "Wavy Gravy," "Gee Baby Ain't I Good For You" and "Midnight Blue" among others. Burrell is quoted as saying to Alfred Lion "I have always had a love for the blues. In my earliest days in Detroit, I worked with groups that concentrated a great deal on the blues. And I wanted to get a group together for this session that can feel the blues the way I do."

1. Chitlins Con Carne
2. Mule
3. Soul Lament
4. Midnight Blue
5. Wavy Gravy
6. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
7. Saturday Night Blues

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it