Sergio Mendes - Brasileiro


Music On Vinyl



Product No.:
AMOV 1297
EAN: 8718469537815
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl plus insert

Brasileiro won the 1992 Grammy Award for Best World Music Album. The album was released at June 17 in 1992.

Mendes went back to the taproots of his heritage, calling upon a plethora of explosive tracks from L.A. sessionmen and giving the production a finished sheen. Combining Forro and Samba Reggae with Indiado stomps and shouts, "What Is This" is a romping Bahian take on hiphop and grafts Portuguese vocals onto a swinging American Funk groove. And the unusual ¾-meter samba "Pipoca" is the creation of do-everything mystery man Hermeto Pascoal.

Mendes draws upon the giants and comers of Brazilian songwriting such as Ivan Lins, Gilberto Gil, Joao Bosco, Carlinhos Brown, and Guinga. Mendes vocal blend is Gracinha Leporace who sounds more vibrant than ever. Bassist Sebastian Neto also returns to the Mendes fold.

Side 1
1. Fanfarra (Cabua-Le-Le)
2. Magalenha
3. Indiado
4. What Is This?
5. Lua Soverana
6. Sambadouro

Side 2
7. Senhoras Do Amazonas
8. Kalimba
9. Barabare
10. Esconjuros
11. Pipoca
12. Magano
13. Chorado
14. Fanfarra (Despedida)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it