Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells II





Product No.:
ARHI 233236
UPC: 825646233236
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

180-gram heavyweight black vinyl

Mastered by the Direct Metal Mastering technique

"Tubular Bells II is the update and/or sequel to Mike Oldfield's landmark 1973 new age recording Tubular Bells, which will resonate forever as the haunting theme to "The Exorcist." Here, Oldfield repeats his multi-instrumental performance, playing guitar, banjo, organ, percussion, mandolin, and the titular tubular bells, although in a nod to modernism, the latter instruments often appear as samples through Oldfield's Kurzweil synth rig. It's the piece's captivating main theme that again takes center stage here.

"The 8-minute opening track 'Sentinel' plays it off of whining guitars and breathy female vocals. The latter element is a nice touch. The genre that the original Bells helped establish has come quite a ways in 20 years, and this fact isn't lost on Oldfield. Throughout II, he incorporates the multi-cultural influences that have cross-pollinated with new age, bringing in breathy ethnic flutes, Asian-inflected string sounds, and the whispered foreign words of "Sentinel."

"The famous ceiling of the album, where each instrument is introduced by a narrator, becomes another summit between old and new. Alan Rickman handles the introductions (during 'Bell') and runs through a litany of instruments that includes 'digital sound processor,' reed and pipe organ, 'the Venetian effect,' glockenspiel, 'two slightly sampled electric guitars,' and vocal chords, which Rickman introduces as if they're an exotic museum piece." — AllMusic 

Side 1
1. Sentinel
2. Dark Star
3. Clear Light
4. Blue Saloon
5. Sunjammer
6. Red Dawn
7. The Bell

Side 2
8. Weightless
9. The Great Plain
10. Sunset Door
11. Tattoo
12. Altered State
13. Maya Gold
14. Moonshine

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it