Bob James and Kirk Whalum - Joined At The Hip





Product No.:
EAN: 4897012136614
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Back in 1996, pianist Bob James and saxophonist Kirk Whalum — two of the biggest names in contemporary jazz — combined their talents on the acclaimed Warner Bros. Album, Joined At The Hip, which is now remastered and reissued as a SACD release by evosound.

Backed by a slick band comprised of guitarist Jeff Golub, bassist Chris Walker, and drummer, Billy Kilson, the pair served up some fine original material — including Whalum's evocative tone poem, "Soweto" — and jazzed-up revamps of two big '70s hits: Maria Muldaur's "Midnight At The Oasis" and Donny Hathaway's "The Ghetto."

Although it was nominated for a Grammy and peaked at No. 10 on Billboard's jazz charts, Joined At The Hip has often been overlooked and remains an important musical touchstone in both artists' careers. The album's 16-page booklet includes new liner notes featuring reminiscences from James, Whalum, and the session's original sound engineer, Ken Freeman. The original high resolution audio mixes were used for the DSD remastering. This Hybrid SACD plays back on both SACD and regular CD players. Bonus tracks (only playable on SACD player) 10. "Out of the Cold" (Original Full Version) and 11. Deja Blue (Original Full Version).

1. Soweto
2. Kickin' Back
3. Out of the Cold
4. Deja Blue
5. Midnight at the Oasis
6. Tell Me Something Nice
7. Tour de Fourths
8. The Ghetto
9. The Prayer
10. Out of the Cold (Original Full Version) (Bonus Track Only Playable on SACD Player)
11. Deja Blue (Original Full Version) (Bonus Track Only Playable on SACD Player)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it