Doug MacLeod - Exactly Like This


Reference Recordings



Product No.:
CREF 135
UPC: 030911113520
Limited Stock



Original Price: $16.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record

2016 Blues Foundation Blues Music Awards, Best Acoustic Artist

Double award winner, 2014 Blues Foundation Blues Music Awards, Best Acoustic Artist & Best Acoustic Album!

"Understanding the importance of restraint to the blues, he skirts the predictable with fresh imagery in lyrics and his music is barb-wire sharp." - Down Beat Magazine

Doug MacLeod is a unique, powerful guitarist with a rich and soulful voice, singing original songs based on his own life and experiences. This is "Genuine Original Acoustic Music" at its very best.

His new album Exactly Like This is his third release with Reference Recordings. It's MacLeod at his very best, in a richly detailed recording by Grammy-winning engineer Keith Johnson, made at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California.

In live performance, Doug MacLeod assures his audience "This song is going to go exactly like this." It's presented just for them, not a repeat of any performance he's ever given or will ever give. He records the same way, each of his original songs are offered with a fresh voice. Exactly Like This contains 11 new MacLeod originals reflecting and paying tribute to some of his diverse musical influences: Louis Jordan, Wes Montgomery, Jerry Reed, Tony Joe White, John Lee Hooker, and even a little Duke Ellington. In his previous 19 studio albums, several live records, compilations, a blues guitar instructional DVD and a live performance DVD, MacLeod has consistently earned raves.

His songs have been covered by many artists including Albert King, Albert Collins, Joe Louis Walker and Eva Cassidy. He has co-written songs with Dave Alvin and Coco Montoya. MacLeod's songs have been featured in many TV movies and the hit show "In the Heat of the Night." Two of his songs are on Grammy-nominated albums by Albert King and Albert Collins.

Doug MacLeod isn't just a blues guy, he's a singer/songwriter/storyteller and serious guitarist. He is one of the few modern artists doing all original material and traveling the country like a troubadour. Just Doug, headed down the road in his Honda, baseball on the radio, Siri by his side and a trunk full of music!

• 2014 Blues Music Awards Best Acoustic Artist and Best Acoustic Album. Bestowed by The Blues Foundation
in Memphis, TN, the world's most prestigious roots music awards.
• Blues Blast Magazine's 2013 Male Blues Artist of the Year

1. Rock It Till the Cows Come Home
2. Too Many Misses For Me
3. Find Your Right Mind
4. Ain’t It Rough?
5. Vanetta
6. Serious Doin’ Woman
7. Ridge Runner
8. New Morning Road
9. Raylene
10. Heaven’s The Only Place
11. You Got It Good (and That Ain’t Bad)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it