Janis Joplin - Pearl

Pressed at RTI on 180-gram audiophile vinyl

Sourced from the original master

Jacket meticulously recreated from the original artwork

Limited edition of Joplin's farewell masterpiece. Originally released on January 11, 1971, (three months after her passing on October 4, 1970), Pearl debuted Joplin's final finished studio recordings. The only album Joplin ever recorded with the Full Tilt Boogie Band, the touring ensemble that had backed her on the Festival Express (a mythic 1970 concert tour by railroad across Canada with the Grateful Dead, the Band and others), Pearl included canonical studio recordings of songs that had been introduced to audiences on tour.

Peaking at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, a position it held for nine weeks, Pearl included some of Janis's most familiar and best-loved performances including her cover of Kris Kristofferson's "Me and Bobby McGee" and her off-the-cuff a cappella "Mercedes Benz."  

1. Move Over
2. Cry Baby
3. A Woman Left Lonely
4. Half Moon
5. Buried Alive in The Blues
6. My Baby
7. Me & Bobby McGee
8. Mercedes Benz
9. Trust Me
10. Get It While You Can

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it