Jason Moran - Ten


Blue Note/Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series



Product No.:
ABLU 44080
UPC: 602458320404
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition on 180-gram LP

In 1999, the same year that Jason Moran released his debut recording Soundtrack To Human Motion, the pianist and composer also joined New Directions, a band made up of young stars from the Blue Note roster. At the core of New Directions was the genesis of a rhythm section — with Moran, bassist Tarus Mateen, and drummer Nasheet Waits — that would go on to become one of the most enduringly creative and acclaimed piano trios in jazz.

The Bandwagon made their first recording as a trio with Facing Left in 2000 and has been the foundation of the majority of Moran's artistic statements since. On his 2010 album Ten, Moran celebrated the 10th anniversary of The Bandwagon with an assured album that was a snapshot of a mature band with a decade of shared musical experience from which to draw.

In addition to provocative originals the album presented singular interpretations of pieces by Thelonious Monk, Jaki Byard, Leonard Bernstein, and Conlon Nancarrow. This first-time vinyl release includes the bonus track "Thelonious" previously only available in Japan.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Optimal.


Side A
1. Blue Rocks
2. RFK In The Land Of Apartheid
3. Feedback Pt. 2

Side B
1. Crepuscule With Nellie
2. Study No. 6 (Extended Version)
3. Pas De Deux - Lines Ballet
4. Study No. 6

Side C
1. Gangsterism Over 10 Years
2. Big Stuff
3. Play To Live

Side D
1. The Subtle One
2. To Bob Vatel Of Paris
3. Old Babies
4. Nobody
5. Thelonious

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it