David Bowie - 1. Outside: The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle

 (2021 Remaster)





Product No.:
APAR 553043
UPC: 190295253370
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl LP with Damaged Cover
2021 Remaster

Bowie's 20th studio album on double LP

The six studio albums inside Parlophone's fifth David Bowie-era box, 2021's Brilliant Adventure (1992-2001) will be available separately on vinyl starting in August 2022.

The albums in question are 1993's Black Tie White Noise, The Buddha of Suburbia (also from 1993 but not issued in the U.S. until much later), 1. Outside from '95, 1997's Earthling, ‘Hours...' from 1999 and the Toy album.

By 1994, Bowie and Eno were again collaborating in the studio. The result was the concept album Outside, released in 1995 as the first installment of a new deal with Virgin Records. The complex project explored the increasing obsession with the mutilation of the human body as art and the paganization of western society. With cut-and-paste lyrics drawing from the diary of fictional character Nathan Adler, a haunted sound of ruin soundtracking a non-linear storyline of art, murder and technology, Outside predated a new darker sensibility that would pervade not only music, but film, literature and the arts in general in the very near future.

Appropriately, the album's first single, "The Hearts Filthy Lesson," showed up in the soundtrack of one of the darkest films to cross over into the mainstream of that year in David Fincher's Seven — while two years later, edits of deep cut "I'm Deranged" would bookend David Lynch's Lost Highway as both opening title and end credits music.


1. Leon Takes Us Outside
2. Outside
3. The Hearts Filthy Lesson
4. A Small Plot of Land
5. Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette)" (segue)
6. Hallo Spaceboy
7. The Motel
8. I Have Not Been to Oxford Town

1. No Control
2. Algeria Touchshriek (segue)
3. The Voyeur of Utter Destruction (as Beauty)
4. Ramona A. Stone/I Am with Name (segue)
5. Wishful Beginnings
6. We Prick You
7. Nathan Adler (segue)
8. I'm Deranged
9. Thru' These Architects Eyes
10. Nathan Adler (segue)
11. Strangers When We Meet

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it