Donny Hathaway - A Donny Hathaway Collection

 (Purple Vinyl)





Product No.:
AATL 82092
UPC: 603497845200
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Purple vinyl double LP reissue

Donny Hathaway's beloved career retrospective on vinyl for the first time!

Includes "Where Is the Love" and "The Closer I Get To You" both with Roberta Flack!

Platinum "Best Of" album that's never been released on vinyl. Includes the holiday favorite This Christmas as well as his famous duets with Roberta Flack The Closer I Get to You and Where Is The Love. This collection been the go-to for Donny Hathaway fans old and new for 30 years. On dark purple vinyl.

Though his recording career was quite brief, Donny Hathaway has continued to be one of the most influential soul artists of the last four decades. He was a talented songwriter with the ability to write songs that provided, in a secular format, the depth of the most heartfelt Gospel music; and he was a remarkable song stylist who defined (or redefined) nearly every song he touched.

His tragic death by an apparent suicide in 1979 cut short his career but for an artist who only recorded three solo studio albums, Hathaway left an incredible mark on soul music. Younger soul artists from India.Arie to Frank McComb to Alicia Keys to Kenny Lattimore consistently list Hathaway as among their principal musical influences, and his imprint on their music is clear. He was a perceptive and powerful songwriter and clearly one of the greatest soul voices ever.

Side A
1. A Song for You
2. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
3. You Were Meant for Me
4. Back Together Again (feat. Donny Hathaway) - By Roberta Flack
5. Where Is the Love - By Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway

Side B
1. For All We Know - By Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway
2. Someday We'll All Be Free
3. Giving Up
4. The Closer I Get to You (Single) - By Donny Hathaway & Roberta Flack

Side C
1. You Are My Heaven (feat. Donny Hathaway) - By Roberta Flack
2. What's Going On (Live at the Troubador, Los Angeles, CA)
3. The Ghetto

Side D
1. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
2. You've Got a Friend - By Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway
3. This Christmas

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it