Death Cab for Cutie - The Photo Album

 (Deluxe Limited Remastered Edition on Clear Vinyl + Booklet + Download Code)





Product No.:
ABAR 021
UPC: 655173902318
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

20th Anniversary LP reissue of the 2001 classic The Photo Album, from Death Cab for Cutie!

Beautifully remastered by João Carvalho, cut for vinyl by Joe Nino-Hernes at Sterling Sound, and pressed at RTI!

Newly remastered for vinyl

Double 180-gram clear vinyl, limited to 4,000 copies worldwide!

Disc 2 includes The Stablity EP — only issued on vinyl once before, as part of the long out-of-print 2013 Death Cab for Cutie: The Barsuk Years box set released by Artist in Residence

Gatefold jacket contains 12-page booklet plus for the first time enlarged to full LP size — all the iconic Sarah Sternau photos from the CD artwork, plus a 35-track digital download (also fully remastered by João)

Download includes The Photo Album, The Stability EP, plus digital-only B-sides and compilation tracks, band demos, acoustic radio sessions, alternate lyrics, and studio outtakes available for the first time as part of the Deluxe Edition

Death Cab for Cutie turn difficult personal issues into literary rock songs while straddling the narrow line between blissful pop and driving indie rock. The Northwest act's songs soar high like Built to Spill's or Beulah's, and almost every track on The Photo Album is as musically bouncy and upbeat as the best of those bands. As catchy as the songs on The Photo Album may be, though, it's really front man Benjamin Gibbard's comfort with laying his emotional issues bare that makes this an excellent album. "Styrofoam Plates" is the most stunning track, with words that leave chills long after they've disappeared. As Gibbard sings about anger for a dead father ("It's not quite a stretch to say you were not quite a father / But a donor of seeds to a poor single mother / That would raise us alone / We never saw the money / It went down your throat down the hole in your belly"), his stark honesty makes this dysfunctional family story the most compelling piece of this album. The other issues of clumsy relationships pale a little in comparison, but The Photo Album still leaves little doubt that Death Cab deserve all the indie rock accolades they have received.


Side A
1. Steadier Footing
2. A Movie Script Ending
3. We Laugh Indoors
4. Information Travels Faster
5. Why You’d Want To Live Here
6. Gridlock Caravans

Side B.
1. Blacking Out The Friction
2. I Was A Kaleidoscope
3. Styrofoam Plates
4. Coney Island
5. Debate Exposes Doubt

Side C
1. 20 th Century Towers
2. All Is Full Of Love

Side D
1. Stability

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it