Found 62 product(s) in the

Alternative Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 21 - 40 of 62 Products
London Grammar - If You Wait Product No: ACOL 39921
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

STUNNING RECORDING

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 21, 2018 by Anonymous wow what can i say - stunning recording. first heard it at RMAF in Denver. depth, dark background, deep bass. On The Absolute Sound's Super LP List - which is rare for newer bands. Recommended.


case/lang/veirs - Self-Titled Product No: AANT 87473
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Anti

Great music/rough pressing

3 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 26, 2018 by Anonymous This record is full of 5 star worthy great music, but the copy I have is full of "pops" and "ticks" Zerostat made no difference and VPI record cleaner improved it only marginally. Played it on a few different decks with same results. It's too bad; the play quality of this record really distracts from the beautiful music.


Haim - Something to Tell You Product No: XSON735917F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Columbia

Really good

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 29, 2017 by Anonymous I really like this recording. The voices and instruments are slap-in-the face sharp. You aren't going to see the "stuff in all the sounds you can because you can with high res" here but I don't think this album needs that.


Imelda May - Life. Love. Flesh. Blood Product No: AVER 38901
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Verve

5/5 For Stellar LP & Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 6, 2017 by audiofan My copy had a "Made In Germany" sticker (the LP jacket simply says "Made In The EU". This ground-breaking album shows May heading in a new direction; no rockabilly here. The songs are mostly mid-tempo and the vinyl is as quiet on my copy as any pressed anywhere - the music emerges from a totally silent, jet-black background, with no warp or surface noise of any kind. A stunning collection of songs and a fantastic pressing. Superb!


Band of Horses - Everything All the Time Product No: XWAR69082F44
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download
Label: Sub Pop

A Modern Classic Just Got Better!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 7, 2016 by RockStar2005 Excellent sound quality on this release! Very clear and wide soundstage!

"Barn Because...." NEVER sounded better than it does here, as do others like "The Funeral", etc.

Highly recommended!!!!


The Lumineers - Cleopatra Product No: ADUA 1738
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Dualtone

I really like this album

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 8, 2016 by Anonymous Probably won't get as much radio play as the first album, but I think this one's better than the first. Really top notch song writing. Pretty good quality of pressing too.


Wilco - Schmilco Product No: AANT 87259
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Anti

10/10/10 For Music/Sonics/Pressing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 8, 2016 by audiofan This basically sounds like Wico "Unplugged" live in your living room. Produced by Jeff Tweedy and Tom Schick (who also engineered), and mastered by the legendary Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, this gorgeous-sounding LP is warm, involving, and organic - and easily rates as one of the best-recorded/sounding LPs in my collection. As usual, QRP's vinyl pressing is flat and dead-quiet, with totally black backgrounds...this is demo-disc territory! I find the musical content beautiful & superbly written and played by the band; of course, that's all subjective. What isn't subjective is the stunning, lifelike, immersive mix and soundfield contained in these grooves. This is an all-out fantastic record! Bravo!


M. Ward - More Rain Product No: AMRG 505331
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Merge Records

M. Ward Shines

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 30, 2016 by audiofan Classic Ward here - despite the contributions of several other artists of note - the sonic signature so typical of past Ward albums remains largely intact, but this release seems a bit cleaner, with the mix and production being quite well-balanced and natural - revealing (on decent systems, of course - everythings relative, after all) a pleasing, organic sound that radiates analog vinyl. There are a few mellow numbers as well as a several up-tempo tracks with the rest falling somewhere in between. My copy was pressed on red vinyl and shows no trace of groove noise or, for that matter, any defect at all. A very well-pressed and great-sounding LP...and perhaps my new favorite M.W. album.


Cage The Elephant - Tell Me I'm Pretty Product No: ARCA 41701
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: RCA

Auerbach In The Cage

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 23, 2015 by audiofan Dan Auerbach's fingerprints are all over this recording (he produces and contributes guitar & vocals) and CTE are much the better for it. Give the band credit for the change in direction - they had gone about as far as they could with the sound & style of their first three albums. Black Keys fans will hear the influence, and this is a different CTE than heard on their previous releases; the songwriting is more mature and melodic, and yes, more on the mellow side. The copy I received initially concerned me - it appeared slightly scuffed in places. However, the vinyl was without fault; totally flat & quiet, with no surface noise whatsoever. A great sounding LP from RCA and a different but positive direction for Cage The Elephant.


Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work) Product No: AORM 47093
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

DH on LP

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 7, 2015 by audiofan If you are into ambient dream-rock (sorry - it's the best I can describe this unique-sounding band) you'll find it beautifully presented on this LP. There is no indication where this title was pressed, and it appears to be standard 120-gram vinyl, but it was defect-free with dead-silent backgrounds and no surface noise. However, it may be closer to an EP than a LP - the six tracks barely total 31 minutes, but what's there sounds lush and involving.


The Pixies - Come on Pilgrim Product No: A4AD 70709
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: 4AD

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 8, 2015 by Anonymous


Mad Season - Above Product No: ALEG 44170
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

A MUST HAVE!!!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 14, 2015 by Stan Any Alice in Chains fan must have this record! What a Supergroup! It's so sad that half the band is gone now. But, the magic they produced is amazing. Such a waste of talent because of the toll drugs took on this kind of creativity. Or, did the drugs cause this creativity? A question to ponder! This record is not grunge. It's bluesy rock! It certainly ranks up there with Stones and Zeppelin to me! The record is super quiet and well recorded with exquisite balance of bass, mid and treble. Plays well on any system I'm sure. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!!


Love and Rockets - Express Product No: ADPR 60
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Drastic Plastic Records

Sounds as good as this material can get

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 3, 2015 by Hikmer Not finding many reviews on this new release, I had the chance to grab this for some record store credit I received. I was floored how good this sounded...quite and detailed. I believe the source is digital, but it didn't strike me that way once the needle dropped. Too bad it couldn't have been a double record release with the bonus material and singles from this era.


Smashing Pumpkins - Monuments To An Elegy Product No: ABMG 22761
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: BMG

beautiful sound, beautiful music

5 Stars
Posted Friday, December 19, 2014 by SB This album sounds great


Lorde - Pure Heroine Product No: ARPB 92540
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Republic

Phenomenal vinyl sound

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 1, 2014 by Brian VanPelt I love the sound of this record. All those words that describe the ideal vinyl sound: lush, wide, deep, detailed but velvety, etc., are all true of this record. The production is absolutely first rate.

First, Lorde's voice is perfectly centered and placed high, as if she's literally on a pedestal. She has a mixture of girlishness and sultriness - maybe too much for a girl her age. Anyway, her voice perfectly compliments the music that flows beneath (and outward) from her voice.

The instrumentation is all electronic, as far as I can tell. But everything is so well-executed. For example, the bass is thumpy where it should be, but many times it's very deep and wide (I mean real bass). The sound stage spread farther than my speakers, and some of the effects where quite successful.

I know that Lorde is getting all the attention here, and she deserves to become a star. But for me, the real star here is the producer - a guy by the name of Joel Little - Wiki him to find out more.


Johnny Marr - Playland Product No: ANVO 9741
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: New Voodoo Records

Every Track is Solid

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 11, 2014 by Rick I never purchased his first solo, so I can't make a comparison. This LP on it's own merits is excellent and worth owning on vinyl. You will find something inviting and catchy on every track. I cant stop listening to it and have now started humming melodies.


Jack White - Lazaretto Product No: ATMR 271
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Third Man Records

Sketchy Vinyl

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 16, 2014 by audiofan Despite the innovative gimmicks employed in the manufacture and playback options, they forgot about vinyl quality. The copy I received had quite a bit of surface noise - the disc played OK, but there were numerous clicks, pops, and, in general, the disc just isn't pressed well. The surface noise does not make the record unlistenable, and it never skipped, it's just a shame it wasn't pressed at QRP, Pallas, or some other premium facility.


British Sea Power - From The Sea To The Land Beyond Product No: ARUF 679
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Rough Trade

Nice package - stunning music

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 27, 2014 by James This is a stunning listen - nice package too. Vinyl is a swirling, aquamarine type colour. If you like BSP, or are thinking about getting this pressing, do it.


Jack White - Lazaretto Product No: XSON79497F44
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download
Label: Third Man Records/Columbia

Get the Album

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 11, 2014 by Burr Weatherly This is different. Jack has explored many genres of music. This is worth listening but would like to recommend that next genre be pop.


Ray LaMontagne - Supernova Product No: ARCA 54551
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: RCA

Great Sound

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 7, 2014 by John C I'm a big Ray Lamontagne fan. This may not be my favorite album of his- I particularly detest the song "Suprnova". I do like the "sixties-retro" sound on a number of songs- I wish there was more of it. But content aside, this is an amazing sounding album and a very clean, quiet pressing. For that I am almost willing to give this five stars.



Viewing 21 - 40 of 62 Products