Found 253 product(s) that are

In Stock

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 101 - 120 of 253 Products
Andrew Hill - Smoke Stack Product No: ABLU 852544
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

nice

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 30, 2020 by william great pressing no static, label is cut good, no defects or distortions really happy this was pressed this with the original analogue tapes! since this is a really unpopular record from blue note it seems blue note didn't use the same amazing recording equipment as black fire, point of departure, and judgement because they knew it was not going to sell as well. just listen


Van Morrison - Three Chords And The Truth Product No: ACRL 6646
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Caroline International

Backwards and Forwards

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 29, 2020 by JazzDoc I've been a Van fan for decades. Listening to this album on Qobuz didn't give me the experience I'd hoped for, perhaps mostly because I wasn't really giving it my attention at the time. So, now I've got the vinyl spinning on my Linn and the lyric sheet in my lap--kinda like the good ol' days. There's something timely about these songs, something timeless about the arrangements. Silver marbled vinyl, quiet and flat surfaces, great depth and R-L dimensions, clearly defined instruments. If you've ever liked Van on vinyl, buy this.


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.


John Coltrane - My Favorite Things Product No: AORM 1080-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: ORG Music

fantastic!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Anonymous fantastic!


Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes - Cosmic Funk Product No: ARGM 0895
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Real Gone Music

Great Music Not Served Well by the Production

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 23, 2020 by rw I bought this to replace my original copy of this title. The original copy is a bit noisy and has a few (very few) pops.

Well, this was a mistake. The Real Gone version is overly bright and the vocals sound as if a banshee is singing. Just to be sure, I immediately played my original copy and the brightness was gone. It became easy to recognize that a human was singing.

If you want this title, find a good used copy.


Macy Gray - Stripped Product No: ACRC 38913
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Chesky

Macy is Magical

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 17, 2020 by Christopher D. I bought this album on whim. What a great decision that was. Like bourbon, Macy's vocal styling can be an acquired taste for some. Thankfully I love bourbon. This album takes you on a pleasant Sunday drive. Just a smooth, pleasant, enjoyable ride. There are surprises as well. A Metallica cover? Yes...and it's really good.

My only criticism, when listening in stereo, from the right channel there is a prominent twang from the upright bass. Its right in your face. Also, Macy's vocals get lost behind the band. Something was off.

My solution? I flipped the mono switch on my receiver. Macy immediately and rightfully returns to the forefront. And that bass twang? It fades into the background. I also turned my bass tone 3 clicks to the right. Put the music right in my sweet spot. So go ahead and pull the trigger on this album. It's damn good.


Cassandra Wilson - Glamoured Product No: ABLU 41401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Mixed Bag

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 4, 2020 by Anthony This is a very well recorded record. The vinyl is quiet and has no apparent flaws. In my opinion, I found the covers of other the artist's works to be superior to her original compositions. I think that had they simply put the cover songs on one disc, it would have been a much more enjoyable offering. Others may disagree.


Keith Jarrett - The Koln Concert Product No: AECM 67001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: ECM

70’s ECM classic still dazzles, but...

3 Stars
Posted Friday, May 1, 2020 by Gregory Isaacon This pressing is SUPER noisy. Admittedly it’s a difficult album to get just right, because the entire piece(s) revolves around a LOT of open space and many pin- drop delicate moments. But even after cleaning out of the box and a brand new cartridge, there’s tons of surface noise on this sucker—to the degree one normally finds on a well-loved 40-year old record. This is one you may want to just listen to digitally, sadly.


Helen Merrill - Helen Merrill Product No: AAPJ 127
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

A smoky, seductive glimpse into 1954!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 24, 2020 by Mike K. Vocal jazz lovers rejoice! Helen manages to “seduce” the microphone with her close miked vocals while the very tight band with Clifford Brown on trumpet will make most jazz lovers swoon. Slight limitations of the recording are evident such as the presence of tape hiss heard at the end of each song and the (almost) sibilant vocals (at times), but Helen’s interpretation and how she vocally “caresses” the microphone more than make up for the slight shortcomings in the recording, but hey, it was recorded in 1954! Any lover of jazz and jazz vocals will be entranced by this album. Pour a bourbon, turn down the lights and be prepared to be enveloped by this very special treat! I can see why this was a much desired album for years. And what a terrific interpretation of “What’s New”! No, it’s not Frank...or Linda, but a superb interpretation that stands alone on it’s own merits. Stellar packaging and pressing by the team at Analogue Productions is also top notch. A must have for any jazz collection!


Ahmad Jamal Trio - Ahmad Jamal At The Pershing Product No: AAPJ 128
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Chad and team are on a roll!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 24, 2020 by I'm Famous. Danny Kaye. The original, if you can find a mint copy, is great. This reissue is LEAPS BETTER than the original. I know, I have both copies. There's just so much more information retrieved and encoded in the grooves. Playing back on a Lyra mono cart, this record will literally blow you away. A+++ reissue.


Thelonious Monk - Les Liaisons Dangereuses 1960 Product No: ASAM 001
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Sam Records

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 23, 2020 by Anonymous


Charlie Parker - The Savoy 10-inch LP Collection Product No: ACONC 0010
Available: InStock
Category: 10 inch Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

Top Quality Parker

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 21, 2020 by Anonymous Its hard to find music from the bebop era, the musicians striked made it almost impossible. Even worse, finding good Bird recordings is also difficult, up until recently I had only original 78s from a garage sale, and The Wire recordings. Everything else is typically taken from a digital source and converted to analog. These have been made from the original analog recordings, if the writing is to be believed, and they are cool collectors items too. That's really what grabbed me.

As for sound quality, digital or analog, I don't care. It's good quality, and its Bird. It's a lot of fun listening to these.

Sleeves are a little tight, so be careful taking the records out, but they are top quality reproductions of the originals. If you're a Bird fan, these are great.


Oscar Peterson - Oscar, With Love: The Songs Of Oscar Peterson Product No: AMAC 1134
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mack Avenue

Great box set and customer service!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, April 17, 2020 by Dave Muggerud Great box set, I’m a piano guy and this does it for me like nothing else. Had a repeating tic on second disc, Evan and the folks at AS sent me a new one and gave Me credit for the shipping! Of course that is not unusual That has always been the way they have handled a return for me. I have purchased many lps over the last 40 years from AS and customer service has always been first class. Thank you all at AS!


Miles Davis - Miles In The Sky Product No: AMOB 437
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 14, 2020 by Chris Perfect in every way. I'm an early Miles fan but I couldn't pass this up and I'm glad I didn't. This is Miles just dipping his toe into what would become his adventure into the unknown.


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Drum Suite Product No: AIMX 6019
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 29, 2020 by Anonymous


Di Meola, McLaughlin, De Lucia - Friday Night In San Francisco Product No: AIMX 6031-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Spectacular

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 25, 2020 by WisEd Fabulous rendition of a fabulous recording of a fabulous performance! This record most definitely goes up to eleven!


Emilie-Claire Barlow - Clear Day Product No: XNAX263771D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: 2xHD

It is three for EC-B & me

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by Craig Alan This is my third Emilie-Claire Barlow album and I continue to be amazed. Her use of a jazz orchestra in addition to her ensemble of studio musicians denotes a bit of a stylistic departure, and yet every bit a delightful departure. She mentions in the accompanying video this music is loosely biographical. If these songs are casted shadows of reflected seminal moments in her life I would be transfixed with rapt attention reading the backstories. The music so perspires with personal emotions that I can imagine she is the one who wrote it in addition to performing it. After listening to this work I sensed a connection with her, almost as if we were best friends who have never met -- but would like to. Ahhh, perhaps someday. Please, might we have more?


Art Blakey - Indestructible Product No: ABLU 7764739
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Blue Note 80)

Another Blue Note 80 Winner

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 7, 2020 by Len If you have been hesitant about purchasing a Blue Note 80 album, don't be. This is excellent music, great performance, and first rate vinyl and pressing. This is the third in the series that I have purchased and have been more than happy with all of them.


Charles Mingus - The Clown Product No: AATL 1260
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Atlantic)

Creepy Good

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 5, 2019 by Anthony The clown on the album cover is creepy but the music and performance are top shelf and so is the production and vinyl. My first one had a noisy side B but was replaced and I'm more than satisfied with the replacement and the service from Acoustic Sounds.


Nat King Cole - Hittin' The Ramp: The Early Years (1936-1943) Product No: ARES 9042
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Resonance Records

Astounding

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 16, 2019 by JMC The amount of research and effort undertaken in producing this box set is astounding. Most of us think of Nat's music by virtue of his lifelong, highly productive association with Capital Records. That Association yielded many, many fantastic LP's and singles that form a part of our musical heritage (and several of those Capital releases have been superbly done by Analog Productions, by the way). His entire "pre Capitol" career is captured within this box set. Incredibly rare and hard to find music, skillfully captured by the best in the business and pressed by RTI. Obviously done with the love and affection it deserves. Hand numbered from an addition of 3000. This is a home run.



Viewing 101 - 120 of 253 Products