Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 47 product(s) that are

Limited Stock

in the

Pop/Rock Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 47 Products
Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson Product No: CMOB 2219 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

An artist for everybody

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 22, 2021 by Jacob Brodbeck Full disclosure here. As a teen in the 70s I heard the name Harry Nilsson and I heard the tune “ Jump into the Fire”, but never connected the artist to the song. When I realized that I could get “Jump” on SACD I took no time ordering it. That’s how much I groove to that tune. Truly psychedelic. As I sat and listened to the disc beginning to end I realized that this was a man who could relate to seemingly everyone. Each tune has its own slot in life. Nilsson related to us. While I cannot relate to his talent in song writing, it makes him the the dominant giver.

This just may be the FUNNEST cd I have. And like nearly everything MOFI puts out, it clean, crisp and transparent in its remastering.

If there is one song writer I’d like to sit, smoke a joint with, and talk about life, it’s Harry Nilsson.


Nick Drake - Made To Love Magic Product No: AISL 84601
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Island Records

Great record for a good price

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 23, 2021 by Hecs Arrived on time and came in some very protective packaging which is nice to see. All for a better price tag compared to the other sellers who offered Nick Drake’s Made To Love Magic.


Carly Simon - Carly Simon Product No: CMOB 2165 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

Good for SACD, but not great

3 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous I purchased this title after being really impressed with the Mobile Fidelity SACD release of Carly Simon's "No Secrets," which sounds great. This SACD sounds a bit better than a good sounding CD release, but not great. It is relatively veiled - lacking clarity or depth. It really holds some of the songs back from being magic - "Dan, My Fling" in particular which would be amazing with great quality sound. It very well could be the original recording or degradation of the master tape over time (although I've heard older recordings sound much better.) The music itself is often good, but not as consistently good as No Secrets. If you already like the album this may be as good as it gets. It just isn't up to the sound standards of a great SACD.


Teenage Fanclub - Grand Prix Product No: APLN 209
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Plain Recordings

Pain Recordings strikes again.

1 Stars
Posted Monday, February 19, 2018 by abcgroup Pain Recordings strikes again. The vinyl is chock full of surface noise and non-fill, which you absolutely hear on quiet songs like "Mellow Doubt." Luckily the LP is mastered quite loud so the rock tunes drown out the non-fill. But the LP is very sibilant. I would not recommend buying this LP. This is my favorite album and I'm still returning my copy. 2-19-18


Nicole Atkins - Slow Phaser Product No: AOHM 001
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Oh'Mercy! Records

Good music, average pressing

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 4, 2017 by Anonymous While nothing really wrong with this pressing, it's pretty standard quality. I guess I'm just spoiled by QRP


Santana - Lotus Product No: CAFZ 247 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

A Must Have!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, March 9, 2017 by Stephen Bieth This has been one of my favourite live album for years. This was originally a Japanese release only then in '91 it was released here. The '91 CD had some issues with distortion. However it doesn't here. The mastering on this SACD is great. I have to be honest I was thinking that this was not going to sound very good. Based solely on what I thought the master tapes might be like. Well I was wrong and very happy to admit it. This, hopefullly will show there is a market for Jazz/Rock fusion SACD's . I would love to hear the four CD set of Miles At The Fillmore on SACD!


Original Harmony Ridge Creek Dippers - Original Harmony Ridge Creek Dippers Product No: ANER 007
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Nero's Neptune

Soulful Americana

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 20, 2016 by Andrew In my opinion, one of the best Americana bands of the 90s/00s--this album oozes with slow, soulful ballads--the blossoming love between Mark Olson and Victoria Williams is on full display here, it's almost tangible. Recorded in the desert at their Joshua Tree home, you can here the creaking chairs and cracking wood floors in the background, which lends to the album's magic. I was hesitant getting this on vinyl, but the recording is stellar and the vinyl quality is above average. I wholeheartedly recommend this album, or anything by the Creekdippers.


Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band - Dust Sucker Product No: AOZT 8006
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Ozit

Side 1 sound quality is terrible

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, September 28, 2016 by Anonymous I wanted to love this recording so much being a big fan of Bat Chain Puller. 3 of the four sides are good enough quality but at least my copy sounds absolutely horrible on side 1. I wrote to Ozit to let them them know and got no response which I deem irresponsible along with non-responsible. But hey, it's cool green vinyl and the packaging's nice.


Bob Dylan - Live 1964 Concert At Philharmonic Hall Product No: CAFZ 230 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Micky Dolenz - The MGM Singles Collection Product No: A7AR 001RD
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: 7A Records

A new found respect for Micky

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 22, 2015 by Wade Burrow This collection of Micky's singles is really cool. The song styles are varied and interesting. I found myself enjoying the record and I'm not a big fan of The Monkees. The sound is good enough, it is not an Analog Depth to the soundstage or an audiophile record by any stretch but it is an enjoyable listen. The color of the Vinyl turned out to be Red instead of Blue. So don't expect a Blue Disc as the description states. The Gatefold contains an interesting interview with Micky as well as an insert that gives a history of the songs on the record. I do think it is a bit much to pay for a single slab of vinyl but it is a unique collection of songs.


Sting - Ten Summoner's Tales Product No: APLD 5341962
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor (Back To Black)

Recommend you pass on this one.

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, July 14, 2015 by Anonymous A disappointment. The pressing quality is decent, but sound is CD-rate. I can't recommend this record, especially considering its price.


Giant Sand - Heartbreak Pass Product No: AWST 5105
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: New West Records

New West Shines!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 10, 2015 by audiofan I had reservations about buying this release. Not about the musical content - I love Gelb/Giant Sand and have purchased some of their other releases on import label Fire Records. But having had a couple of bad experiences with New West pressings (Lucinda Williams, etc.) that had surface noise, ticks, and pops, I was concerned the same would hold true here. Thankfully, it didn't happen. Maybe they finally "got the message", but the vinyl here is virtually flawless...the band sounds like they're in the room with you. Superb material pressed on flat, very quiet vinyl - well done! For fans, this is essential.


The Band - Stage Fright Product No: ACAP 886491
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Capitol

Nice

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 15, 2015 by Lowel Jones My copy is quiet and lays flat no issues with this one.


Pearl Jam - Lightning Bolt Product No: ARPB 89830
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Republic Records

Very well engineered, band is tight but lyrics suck

2 Stars
Posted Monday, January 5, 2015 by Anonymous Well, Eddie Vedder has finally done it. He's become God...in his own mind. This record is very well engineered, and the music itself is at or near its best for the band, but the lyrics suck. More than half the record can be summed up by saying "If you don't think exactly like I do, and believe exactly what I do, then you're a moron...and anyone who believes in anything greater than themselves is a retarded fool, so the rest of us should pitty and educate these people". Thanks Eddie. NOW I get it. Good thing I have your wisdom! Seriously though, he has disrespectful (and yet inaccurate) things to say about Christianity as well as Hinduism. The other 50% or so is just about personal experiences and/or relationship issues. The lyrics really bring down the rest of the record. They were so much better when they were Stone's band, and they didnt' have Matt Cameron rushing them through every song.


Eric Clapton & B.B. King - Riding With The King Product No: AREP 47612
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Reprise

Sit Down and Listen

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 21, 2014 by CD Please don't wait for any of the "Experts" to tell you to buy this. Listen to me. It does not get any better than this. And by the way, From The Cradle is really Good also. It does not matter How the music was recorded. All that counts is How it sounds. This is perfect.


Silverchair - Diorama Product No: AMOV 1090
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music On Vinyl

Elation...then Devastation

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 25, 2014 by Jason W. The one album I had been anxiously awaiting on vinyl finally arrived. I cleaned it, gave it a spin, and was instantly elated. The highs are a little bright on some songs, but there were so many little layers and details that came through that I had never heard before from the CD version. Diorama is one of my all-time favorites. Personal addendum: As I was taking the album off the turntable last night, it slipped out of my hands, hitting the metal corner of a nearby stand, and gouging a deep scratch across Side 1. Album ruined, and I'm still upset. There's $35 down the drain.


Paul McCartney - New Product No: AHER 34848
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Hear Music

2 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 20, 2014 by Anonymous


Todd Rundgren - Hermit Of Mink Hollow Product No: AFRM 216981
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Friday Music

Buy the 1990 CD instead

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2013 by Jeff C - Australia In 1978 I had an original version of this LP and I do not recall it sounding as bad as this. I mean the songs are good and all, but it seems to me that the master tape this was made from is in bad shape. Many albums recorded at Bearsville were never that great sound wise to me anyway. So I am guessing due to all the multi tracking to enable Todd to play and sing everything on this album the master was a bit muddy and distorted to start with. Add to that many 70s master tapes are nowhere near the quality of 50s/60s tapes, plus the aging has resulted in a very poor sound indeed. I recommend you pass on this LP and just buy the not remastered 1990 CD instead as it will be cheaper and most likely sound way better.


Elvis Presley - King Creole Product No: CAFZ 160 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Audio Fidelity

Not a Great Advert for Hybrid SACD

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 22, 2013 by FJC U.K. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a real Fan of Audio Fidelity and their latest batch of Hybrid SACDs and for the most part the ones I have are all pretty much near Reference quality.....but this Elvis disc is a stinker from start to finish I'm afraid - poor resolution, muddy sound, poor seperation of the vocals...etc. etc. - if you really want to hear this album at it's best either purchase (or keep hold of) the Sony Legacy release from the late 90's...play them 'A to B' aginst each other and if you didn't know any better you'd expect the Sony release to be the freshly minted disc.....oh well, never mind!


Prince - 1999 Product No: ARHI 23720
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 29, 2013 by MyPal Great Album but average pressing. Production defects.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 47 Products