Found 22 product(s) that are

In Stock

in the

Folk Rock Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 22 Products
The Jayhawks - Hollywood Town Hall Product No: AAME 91401
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: American Recordings

A must have for any Jayhawks fan!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 29, 2016 by ATLTrav Positives: Wonderful mastering by Kevin Gray. Nicely pressed 180 gram vinyl by QRP. Negatives: Cheap white inner sleeve. I'm surprised QRP would let a record leave the plant in one. Light/ non gate-fold jacket but it's expected in this price point. Conclusion: A very worthy purchase!


Townes Van Zandt - Our Mother the Mountain Product No: AFAT 10901
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fat Possum

Could have been better.

2 Stars
Posted Monday, February 8, 2016 by Steve This is probably my favorite Townes Van Zandt album. Unfortunately the vinyl is very noisy, which distracts greatly from the music.


David Elias - Rare To Go - December Solstice Product No: XSSP122015F44
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download
Label: Sketti Sandwich Productions

Wonderful

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 24, 2016 by Dez Fretz In my first listen to David Elias's new album, "Rare to Go" I was amazed by the sound quality which, on the opening tracks, is among the best I've heard from a CD.

The in-the-room realism of DE's earlier albums, 'Crossing' and 'The Window', is here on many tracks. Also the clarity of an audiophile reference recording. At its best there is that quality of "release" that I hear in many jazz records of the 50s and 60s -- uncompressed and unconstrained.

When I returned to it after a few weeks I got way into the music. The song sequence seems perfect -- unhurried, but always moving us along. We come and go. His words question and yearn, comment and soothe. His guitar is a second voice, allowing us to ponder but urging us forward.

Our grooving reverie is broken twice by what sound like bootleg recordings of the band in a goddam barn, with David well back, stage right, poorly miked. These rehearsals of "Aspen Rose" and "Juanita" are jarring but interesti


Bob Dylan - Nashville Skyline Product No: XSON42450D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Columbia/Legacy

A Fantastic Sounding Classic Album!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 8, 2015 by RockStar2005 Just bought this DSD version and I was VERY impressed by it!

Dylan's duet with Johnny Cash on "The Girl From The North Country" starts the album off on the right foot. Definitely the best version of this song is the one found here. Lay Lady Lay wipes the floor with the mp3 version which in the background is a "foggy mess". This version here is very clean, as is the version of North Country here vs the mp3, though Lady is even more so improved.

Other tracks like Tell Me That It Isn't True, Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You, and especially I Threw It All Away make this album well-worth the price! Sound quality is clear and warm all the way through, so it definitely meets the high sound quality standards that you'd expect of a DSD release too.

Highly recommended!!!


Peter, Paul & Mary - In Concert Product No: AAPF 1555
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Stunning reissue

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 5, 2014 by bruce I was delighted last year to read that this was being pressed, and then came the agonising wait for shipping. Worth waiting for, was it ever. I have the original but the clarity particularly, and warmth of this release captures the group at its magnificent best. Worth 10 stars if I could. QRP just keep delivering.


Cat Stevens - Tea For The Tillerman Product No: XAPP9135D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

You are there

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 7, 2014 by Bob Alps The sound is amazing. I have over 200 SACD's of varying quality. I also have several Blue-ray audio discs. This is my first DSD download. I have it on a flash drive and plug it into my Oppo CD/SACD/Blu-ray player. The sound is as good as any SACD I have. It is really thrilling to feel this close to the music. Highly recommended.


Bob Dylan - Blonde On Blonde Product No: CMOB 2097 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Mobile Fidelity

A MUST HAVE FOR DYLAN FANS

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 25, 2013 by Clive No background noise so the listener can enjoy the music in detail. This recording captures excellent depth in the voice and the mouthorgan is sharp with no distortion. A must have recording.


Bob Dylan - Tempest Product No: ACOL 45760
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record & CD
Label: Columbia

4 Stars
Posted Friday, December 21, 2012 by Anonymous


James Blake - James Blake Product No: ARPB 544301
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Republic Records

Fabulous on LP

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 16, 2012 by Ross Great record and the bass is spectacular.Try Limit to Your Love for a sonic treat.


Cat Stevens - Tea For The Tillerman Product No: CAPP 9135 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 17, 2011 by Anonymous


Townes Van Zandt - Flying Shoes Product No: AFAT 10911
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fat Possum

Great Buy.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, April 10, 2011 by Anonymous I loved the disc. Keep playing and playing.


Wilco - Wilco (The Album) Product No: ANON 516608
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Nonesuch

Beautiful Sweet Wilco!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 23, 2009 by Anonymous Don't think, just purchase.


Bob Dylan - Bob Dylan Product No: ASUN 5120
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Superb MONO sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, July 3, 2009 by Vincent Cortese This LP is fantastic in all ways. First, the MONO sound brings a new life to this record. All the stereo, hard panned 2 track stereo mixes are a complete distraction with guitar in one channel and vocals in the other. None of that here, quite obviously. Great sound, centered and focused all on perfectly quiet vinyl. They have also perfectly reproduced the Columbia deep red six-eye label, the only Dylan album release that ever had it. A wonderful record.


Townes Van Zandt - Live at the Old Quarter Product No: AFAT 11181
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fat Possum

Best Live Album Ever

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 3, 2009 by Josh Buckley A genius and his guitar. The Old Quarter is the best live album I've ever heard. Included are the classic Poncho and Lefty and If I Needed you, but also some lesser known classics like Mr. Gold and Mr. Mudd, White Freightliner Blues and Rex's Blues. Live at The Old Quarter captures Townes at his peak performance. If there was one Townes album you should have it's this one. I love his studio work but producer Kevin Eggers had a tendency to go overboard with strings an woodwinds. On this album Townes' songs stand alone...and sound their best


Bob Dylan - The Times They Are A-Changin' Product No: ASUN 5108
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

Bob Dylan done right!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 14, 2008 by Anonymous This is one of Bob's finest in glorious mono.


Son Volt - On Chant and Strum Product No: ALEG 12883
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, August 23, 2007 by Anonymous Jay Farrar is an extremely talented, underrated artist. This album is the deluxe version of The Search, and it's better than the original version because the extra songs are some of Farrar's strongest (Exurbia, Bicycle Hotel, Coltrane Free). And the packaging is nice; 2 180g LPs in a gatefold sleeve. Very good!


Wilco - Sky Blue Sky Product No: ANON 79986
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Nonesuch

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 23, 2007 by Anonymous


Bob Dylan - Modern Times Product No: ACOL 87606
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Columbia

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 10, 2006 by Anonymous


Bob Dylan - Bringing It All Back Home Product No: ASUN 5070
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Sundazed

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 22, 2006 by Anonymous


Wilco - A Ghost is Born Product No: ARHI 76492
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Nice, but the CD is better

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 8, 2006 by GoldenBoy (a.k.a. GoldenRedux) This album is one of the few contemporary Rock/Pop recordings that was recorded and mixed completely to analogue, and was mastered properly to CD. Although this LP is mastered wonderfully, it sounds identical to the CD in every way except that the CD has no surface noise. My copy of this vinyl pressing was particularly noisy and the surface of the LP even looked quite scuffed. With that said, the surface noise is not as bad as it looked like it would be. Anyway, as this really offers no sonic improvement over the CD issue, I'd say save your money and stick with the CD.

If you really want a wonderful experience with Wilco on vinyl, look for the 180g Sundazed pressing of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot which was an all tube transfer from the original analogue master, and is superior in every way (minus the surface noise, of course :) ) to the CD release.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 22 Products