Found 19 product(s) that are

In Stock

in the

Soundtrack Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 19 of 19 Products
Ennio Morricone - Collected Product No: AMOVATM 1104CLR
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music On Vinyl/ At The Movies

Not original recordings, but very good

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 3, 2019 by Hazim These are not original versions of the famous Morricone melodies, but they are well played by an orchestra in a very similar arrangements, although for my taste, they miss the energy of the originals.

The sound is very good, and the pressing (on clear vinyl) is top notch - very quiet background, no clicks or pops.


Henry Mancini - Hatari! - Music from the Paramount Motion Picture Score Product No: CAPP 2559 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 12, 2019 by Anonymous


Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings Product No: ARHI 565277
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Rhino

Great music - not so great pressing

3 Stars
Posted Monday, September 17, 2018 by Anonymous Everyone knows how wonderful the Lord of the Rings scores are - some of the greatest of all time. Unfortunately, this pressing is noisy. It’s not the pops and cracks so much as the inexplicable “rushing” sounds that are not present on the CD. At this price these should be premium quality, but for whatever reason, Rhino has disappointed. I did not buy The Fellowship of the Ring on vinyl so I don’t know how this compares.


Tom Waits And Crystal Gayle - One From The Heart Product No: AMOB 448
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Mobile Fidelity

excellent recording

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 21, 2018 by Anonymous clearly one of the best recorded Tom Waits records. a "Super LP" n the list of great ups from The Absolute Sound. Deserved. nice contrast between the two voices.


Henry Mancini - Hatari! - Music from the Paramount Motion Picture Score Product No: AAPP 2559
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent Reissue

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 7, 2017 by Scott Wilson I ordered recently when this title went on sale and I’m glad I did! This is a very fine reissue. Sound quality is wonderful, but the pressing is even more so - absolutely silent throughout. Jacket is a beauty too. I can retire my original copy.


Various Artists - Chicago Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Product No: XSON10786D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Sony

Beautiful

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 29, 2017 by Ivan Pacewiczh Perfect simple beautiful, great sound track


Various Artists - Singles Product No: XSON222220F192
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download
Label: Epic Soundtrax

Hyper-compressed Loudness Wars release

1 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 29, 2016 by dobyblue Unfortunately with Sony chances are remastering details are going to be hard to find when they reissue high resolution versions of catalogue titles and this one is no exception, in fact I don't even think it mentioned that it's been remastered but it clearly has...the dynamics have been stripped from this release and it has been heavily compressed in the mastering stage. There are no credits here, so I have no idea who is responsible for it, but sadly this "High Resolution" release is beaten in every regard by the initial CD release.

There is no sonic information above 48kHz here so if you do love the sound of dynamically challenged recordings then pick up the 24/96 version.

The tracks most affected are the Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, Mother Love Bone and Pearl Jam tracks. The Chloe Dancer track is even more compressed than the new Mother Love Bone 24/96 collection and that was already "over-loudnessed". Hendrix and Cornell tracks not as bad.

Bad Sony, bad, bad bad. One star.


John Williams - Star Wars: The Force Awakens Product No: AWLT 42166
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Walt Disney Records

Poor vinyl quality

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 21, 2016 by Anonymous Very noisy pressing with mediocre sonics. Unacceptable at this price. You're paying for the holograms...


Basil Poledouris - Conan The Barbarian Product No: XUNI479556F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Conan the Barbarian 96K version

2 Stars
Posted Monday, March 21, 2016 by James Burt A very disappointing release. I'm beginning to think many of the older titles are not worth the expense for high res transfers. This release sounds very dull and muffled, like a third generation tape transfer. Not the fault of Acoustic Sounds but the source they are given. The recent Intrada 2 CD release at 44.1 sounds 3x better than the quality of this transfer at 96k. Recommended only for the music, not for this transfer.


Alan Parker - Jaws 3-D Product No: XUNI431028F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Geffen

Overly cleaned-up tape transfer

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 18, 2015 by James Burt Not a terrible score but not in the same league as John Williams. Unfortunately someone has decided this apparent tape source needed a cleanup, probably to remove tape hiss and give it a more pristine appearance for its 96K transfer. Bad decision in my opinion. The artifacts caused by this choice has completely changed the character of the orchestra, especially in the high strings and woodwinds and made it, for me, difficult to listen to. Hopefully this is not going to be a trend in transfers for older analog titles to hi-def sound because I would much rather listen to a CD (or cassette tape) than a 96K version that sounds like this one does.


Henry Mancini - The Pink Panther Product No: ALEG 50811
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

A preserved classic!

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 8, 2015 by Rudy / Record Collector Guide I grew up with this album in the house, in all its scratched up mono glory, so it was nice to see Sony finally reissue this title properly. All I've had is the late 80s reissue on CD (its first) which is rather bright and lifeless. Cut by Kevin Gray and pressed on pink vinyl, this album comes across well with a full-bodied response, and the typical stereo spread of the mid 60s. On this, I am hearing more detail than I've heard on any digital version thus far. The vinyl surface is relatively free of minor ticks and clicks but, like all colored or clear vinyl I own, there is a higher background noise floor, like a faint constant "swishing" noise. Not distracting though. I am tempted to get a spare copy on black vinyl just to have it. I don't know how the more recent remastering by Analogue Productions might improve on this one; I'll wait to see and do a comparison. On these Dynagroove titles, it boils down to which source tapes are used.


Jimi Hendrix - Rainbow Bridge Product No: ALEG 96421
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Legacy

Rainbow Bridge The Finest Hour On LP

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 15, 2014 by Triodeotl This LP has much better bass and more inner detail than the original Reprise. Its like they took a blanket off the recording. Buy it for "PolyGap" if you want to hear the future of Hendrix songwriting. Definitely get it for possibly the finest live version of “Hear my Train a Com’in”.

Get it while you can I got my LP today 7 days before release. It was delayed initially but it is here now. Noise floor is way off the map compared to the original Reprise pressing. Even if you have that you got to have this. Numbered copies will sell out. Get an early pressing while you still can. I recommend this highly ++++


Various Artists - Footloose Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Product No: XSON1022D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Sony

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 26, 2014 by Chris I own the original Redbook version of this album and was always impressed with its mix of great songs and impressive SQ.

Comparing the SQ between this DSD download and the original was ear opening to say the least thru my Meitner MA-1 DAC. The soundstage of the DSD version is much wider and information packed. Dynamic range seems through the roof too but unfortunately I have no way of confirming this for DSD files. For what its worth the measured DR of the Redbook version was a 10. Subjectively this one sounds far punchier in all the right places.

Highly Recommended


Various Artists - Top Gun/Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Special Expanded Edition) Product No: XSON29335D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Sony

Thin and harsh.

1 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 9, 2014 by Aaron The soundstage is collapsed and the sound is thin. I regret spending $25 on this title. I have a large number of high res PCM, and a couple of other DSD files. This is among the couple that I regret.


Henry Mancini - Breakfast at Tiffany's Product No: ALSP 2362
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA Living Stereo)

I love this

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 22, 2012 by Ant Simon Not only is this record very very cool, it is also stunningly produced and pressed


Various Artists - Wretches & Jabberers Product No: ARML 001
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Rumor Mill

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 31, 2011 by Anonymous


Various Artists - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - The Hot Spot Product No: CAPB 8755 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions

Where has this soundtrack been?

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 6, 2010 by Barry The soundtrack is from a 1990 movie. Never saw it and I never heard of it until now. But the music is great and the SACD has a lot of there, there. Blues by mostly JLH.


Various Artists - Juno Product No: ARHI 432700
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Rhino

Juno Rules

4 Stars
Posted Monday, December 15, 2008 by StylinLP Hey, this may be a digital from a Digital to a Digital to Vinyl but it's great. I really enjoy these songs. Acoustically they are not 1st pressing of Coltrane, but they do sound clear. Whats enjoyable is to experience and explore songs not well known. I guess Juno is trying to show us new music! For the money it was well worth it. Played it a dozen times in the few months Ive had it so well worth my money.


Henry Mancini - The Music from Peter Gunn Product No: ALSP 1956
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (RCA Living Stereo)

A must have for any collector!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, October 21, 2007 by Chad Thorpe One of my favorites!! I liked it so much that I orderd Charade. I can't stop playing it!



Viewing 1 - 19 of 19 Products