Found 8 product(s) in the

SACD

category from the

Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 Products
Walter Hendl Chicago Symphony - Prokofieff: Concerto No. 3 / MacDowell:Concerto No. 2/ Van Cliburn Product No: CAPC 2507 SA
Available: PreOrder
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Maybe Cliburn's Best Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by Richard Schneider An enlightened choice. One of the best engineered piano concerto recordings ever made, so much so that it even sounded great on cassette! It's like you're there in the best seat in the house. It's also one of Cliburn's best recordings, and an absolutely top drawer performance of the Prokofiev. The MacDowell I'm not so crazy about this piece, but Cliburn and Hendl make a great case for it, and the sound is of the same demonstration quality. Other ideal piano concerto recordings from this period include Beethoven 3 with Gary Graffman, Hendl/CSO, and the Brahms 2nd Piano Concerto with Sviatislaw Richter, Leinsdorf, and the CSO. I can hardly wait for this pre-order to be available. Don't let it take all year!


Fritz Reiner - Moussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures At An Exhibition Product No: CAPC 2201 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 9, 2017 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Rimsky-Korsakoff: Scheherazade Product No: CAPC 2446 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Five stars +++++

5 Stars
Posted Monday, July 3, 2017 by My2cents Classical music is a relatively new (and limited) exploration for me so I cannot speak with authority concerning the music itself but it doesn't need me to as it certainly speaks for itself. Suffice it to say that I love this music even though it is new to these ears. But I can speak to the quality of this reissue because I have been purchasing music for over half a century and I've experienced all of the highs and lows that go with this lifelong endeavor. It seems that I am always in search of the "definitive" version of albums that I love and this was one of those rare times when you know that you could not have done any better and likely never will. I purchased the vinyl edition first and loved it so much that I also purchased the SACD for those times when a disc is more convenient. I cannot recommend this more strongly or more highly. If you are a fan of this title (or a novice such as myself), then purchase this with confidence. A huge "thank you" to all responsible.


Fritz Reiner - Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra Product No: CAPC 1806 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Astonishing for its time ... or any time.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 5, 2017 by F. P. Walter The SACD version is marvelous -- airy, luminous, faultlessly spread, and not a rough edge on the most rambunctious fffs! What's more, AP's remastering adds a delightful fillip: tr. 9 lets the tape roll on after the whole take is over ... so at 04:38 you can actually catch John Pfeiffer saying: "It sounds very good, Dr. Reiner." I guarantee you'll agree.


Charles Munch - A Stereo Spectacular: Saint-Saens Symphony No.3 Product No: CAPC 2341 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Major Disappointment

2 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 21, 2016 by David W Munch, BSO, Zamkochian all brilliant. Recording is not. Strings are shrill and lack definition. Overall there is no depth or warmth. Seems like many parts of the recording were highly oversaturated and could not be rescued by this remaster. Sections that are mezzopiano or mezzo forte actually sound quite good, furthering the disappointment in those sections that are louder, Quite a shame especially when compared with the Living Stereo recording of Reiner - Alexander Nevsky from just one year later, a recording with elegant balance, tone and accuracy. Get this one for the historical performance but don't expect to be wowed by the acoustics. You won't be. A real shame.


Rubinstein/Reiner/Jorda - Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini/ Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain Product No: CAPC 2430 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Disappointing layout

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 19, 2015 by M. Mitchell The sound is great. That's not the disappointing part. The entire release has just two tracks; one track for the 24 Variations, and one track for the three movements of Nights in the Gardens of Spain. If you listen with no video output you may not mind -- until you try to find the famous 18th Variation. Good luck with that. If this were re-released with proper encoding I would buy it again.


Reiner, Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky Product No: CAPC 2395 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

Another preview

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 17, 2014 by Richard Schneider This is one of only two orchestra/choral recordings made with Reiner and the CSO during the Living Stereo era, the other was Beethoven's 9th and each one featured the newly formed Chicago Symphony Chorus. Neither one has had the full-on audiophile treatment, so the planned summer release of Nevsky on vinyl and SACD will be a very special audiophile debut. RCA's original vinyl issue was quite good for it's time, decent quality surfaces, with convincing lively dynamics. The miking managed to capture the daunting orchestral array, the width and depth of the chorus, and a feel for the venue. Great natural presence - nothing "in your face." The Reiner Beethoven 9th would be equally deserving of the audiophile treatment, a magnificent performance in a very natural production, notable for the solo vocal quartet, a perfect non-diva ensemble heard not up front, but from the chorus. Let this not fall through the cracks of recording history.


Fritz Reiner - The Reiner Sound Product No: CAPC 2183 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid 3-Channel Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (RCA Living Stereo)

PREview not a REview

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 13, 2014 by Richard Schneider For some, the most iconic of the Reiner Living Stereo series, has had multiple iterations on independent audiophile vinyl, but never made the cut for RCA's own SACD series, despite many requests. So now SACD fans will have a chance to hear these amazing performances. By the way, has anyone considered Hovhaness/Stravinsky Mysterious Mountain/Fairy's Kiss? That happens to be the only purely orchestral Reiner/CSO recording to remain active in the full-price Red Seal catalog and never downgraded to mid-price through to the end of RCA's lp era. Must be a reason for that. And it did well when issued on CD. It's time for this classic to get the full bore audiophile treatment on vinyl and SACD.



Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 Products