Found 9 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

RCA Living Stereo

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Products
Leontyne Price - Leontyne Price Arias Product No: XSON88904F176
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download
Label: RCA Living Stereo

PRICE, THE ARTIST OF THE CENTURY

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 23, 2016 by Les ROBERTS Leontyne Price has a magical voice of supreme power, delicacy and beauty, all in one. Probably the best soprano of all time. This record should be in every opera lovers collection, as it shows her at her very best. Many singers have come close to her brilliance, but, in my view, none have surpassed her exquisite tone. Listen and be transported!


Pierre Monteux - Franck: Symphony in D minor/ Stravinsky: Petrouchka Product No: XSON26575F176
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download
Label: RCA Living Stereo

Fantastic definitive recordings

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 6, 2014 by Mark Monteux did his very best work in these classic recordings. The Franck si simply the very best version there is. And Monteux was there from the beginning when Stravinsky's ballets premiered, and his rendition is authoritative.


Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony - Ravel: Bolero/  La Valse/ Rapsodie Espagnole/ Debussy: Images Product No: CRCA 66374 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

Crystal Clear

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 7, 2012 by Anonymous This was my first Classical SACD and I was impressed. The clarity of the orchestra was better than expected. I will certainly check out others in the Living Stereo collection.


Jascha Heifetz - Brahms & Tchaikovsky: Violin Concertos Product No: CRCA 67896 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 10, 2008 by Anonymous


Fritz Reiner - Debussy: La Mer/ Respighi: Fountain & Pines of Rome/ Debussy: La Mer Product No: CRCA 71614 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

An indispensible recording

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 17, 2007 by Hannibal What can one say? - These performances are legendary and rightly so. They are musical treasures, both sonically and interpretively, and belong in every music lover's collection. Bravo a tutti!


Fritz Reiner - Dvorak: New World Symphony/ Carnival Overture/ Smetana/ Bartered Bride Overture Product No: CRCA 66376 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

Not Multi Channel

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 3, 2006 by Arthur Montgomery The quality of recording is good, the music is phenominal, but the sound is flat if you have a concert hall set up for your multi-channel stereo system. I was very disappointed with this c/d


Charles Munch - Mendelssohn: Symphonies Nos 4 & 5/ Octet: Scherzo Product No: CRCA 71616 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

AMAZING LP

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 27, 2006 by Bob Odell The performances are definitive. The sound on the LP engineered by RCA's top team and recrded on 3 tracks in 1958 are breathtaking.. Recorded in Sympony Hall in Boston. I can only imagine what the SACD will be like as all these releases have been superior to the original LP.

Addendum. The SACD is even more remarkable with increased clarity, and things you don't hear on the LP. Great job RCA.


Charles Munch - Saint Saens: Symphony No.3 ''Organ''/ Debussy: La Mer Product No: CRCA 61387 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

A sonic let-down

3 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 5, 2005 by L Roderick When I first read about RCA's re-birth of my cherished "Living Stereo" collection in SACD format I knew I HAD to purchase the Saint-Saens Organ Symphony. I remembered it well from my long-lost LP! Surely the SACD would rival the "old" sound! Alas, it was not to be. While the performance itself is near-perfect, the sound coming from the disc is rather flat, lifeless, and somehow devoid of the low-note rumble that left one inspired and excited once the LP ended. Sigh. Maybe RCA will see the error of its recording-ways and re-do this masterpiece?


Fritz Reiner - Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition & Other Russian Showpieces Product No: CRCA 61394 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: RCA Living Stereo

As good as this recording can get... But there is better.

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 5, 2005 by Nate Greenleaf Don't get me wrong, bang for the buck this is a nice SACD. It is as crystal clear as one would expect, and it is a nice showcase for the ORIGINAL D-day, 1957 3 track (FR,FL,C) recording. The drums and cymbal crashes SNAP, and POP delightfully, and there is little analog hiss. However, there is still a slight hollow sound overall, (reminds me of the Fantasia Soundtrack recordings), something I would expect for it is almost a 50 year old recording. I prefer the NYPhil with Schippers directing that is coupled with Prokofiev's Nevsky. (CSON M87711 SA) Vinyl fans will probably love this one as it has that Analog warmth to it; It does however, lack the depth that I have come to expect of SACD. All in all, I would recommend this one, as it does sound great... and for $12, (I got it for $9!) you really can't go wrong. It also has extensive liner notes (15 pages), both about the music and the recording process.



Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Products

Refine Your Search