Found 17 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Classic Records (Everest)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 17 of 17 Products
Sir Eugene Goossens - Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps Product No: AEVC 3047-45
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Phenomenal

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 7, 2018 by Anonymous Listened to this on a pair of Wilson Sabrinas on Clearaudio Ovation (Cart uncertain of-I was auditioning Wilsons). Amazing. Pitch black background, record was super clean, QRP inner sleeves also seem to have upped their game (Thickness improved on the MoFi style inner sleeves used). Bernie Grundman, possibly the most well respected mastering engineer in the industry behind this reissue, which was mastering using Classic Records mastering chain before he greatly upgraded it for the ORG reissues, but still highly highly recommended for sound and music. Stravinsky is a master. Also highly rec the CR Stravinsky Firebird SVP 45s (3 discs), which you can purchase her on AS!


Sir Eugene Goossens - Stravinsky: Le Sacre du Printemps (The Rite of Spring) Product No: AEVC 3047Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great dynamic recording, but noisy for new

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 8, 2014 by Anonymous Ordered this recording based on the description. Sounds great, but allot of surface noise. Had to clean rather extensively but with good results. Now plays silently. I don't expect new $35.00 records to be noisy. Very dynamic.


Leopold Stokowski - Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra Product No: AEVC 3069Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Bartok

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 12, 2013 by Triodeotl Great sound for Everest. If you like Bartok grab this you will like Stokowski's interpretation. Just wait till you hear the harp way off to the left edge of you speaker coming out of the wall.

Recommended.


Sir Eugene Goossens - Antill: Corroboree/ Ginastera: Panambi Product No: AEVC 3003Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Terrifyingly clear pressing

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 2, 2012 by Phil This is not one of the "master compositions" of our time, but it is en enjoyable work. Modern but not overly dissonant: not "hard" to listen to. As such I will review the performance (excellent) and sonic (outstanding):

Performance: Excellent precussionist, very strong orchestral playing from what would be considered a "second tier" orchestra. As such the playing has moments of brilliance and moments where they seem to be just trying to get through: all -in-all well done.

Sonics: Excellent throughout, some of the best I've every heard at times (note: I have most of the biggies). The opening 3-minutes is mind-blowing: excellent low-level information recovery, accurate, lively, exciting sound. Similar to the playing this mellows out at times, but never drops below excellent.

If you are into vinyl for sound quality you MUST have this record. If you are a 20th century classical music aficionado you also must have this record. Others can probably live wihtout


Enrique Jorda - Falla: Three Cornered Hat Product No: AEVC 3057Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

35mm Spectacular!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 22, 2010 by Scott Wilson I had a near-mint original Everest pressing (magenta label) on hand to compare. The magenta label was in use when Belock still had control of pressing quality, and I find many to be better than the original blue/silver pressings. Though extremely costly to produce, the 35mm magnetic film recordings that Mercury, Everest and Command produced, are among the most vivid, three-dimensional recordings ever made. "The Three Cornered Hat" is a marvelous demonstration disc, as it features a soprano voice, male voices chanting and stomping, along with many interesting percussion effects. As good as the original is, the new Classic version is better in most respects. Its much cleaner and quieter, with an uncanny feeling of looking in and around the instruments in detail. Once heard, there's no going back to the older pressing. My particular copy had no pressing or noise problems that plague some Classic pressings. A 45rpm set of this one would be even better. Grab this now, before it slips away.


Tauno Hannikainen - Sibelius: Concerto in D Minor Product No: AEVC 3045Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Sibelius

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 5, 2010 by John P. This is a great sounding and very well played example of the Sibelius only Violin Concerto. I have a half dozen copies of this wonderful concerto and this ranks with the best (even my Heifetz copy). Ditto on the tone poem. Very reasonable price to boot.


Hugo Rignold - Khachaturian: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra Product No: AEVC 3055Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Skip it.

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 26, 2010 by Anonymous I find Classic Records remastering of these original Everest releases a waste of time and our money. The remastering almost always sound far superior to the original pressings which consistently sounded terrible 35 mm or not. I have almost all the original early pressings. The reissue if flat and defect free. The concerto itself is not my favorite piano concerto but it can be exciting if not beautiful. If you can find the London or Decca performance by Alicia De Larrocha with the London Philharmonic with de Bergos CS6818 get it. A great recording and much better performance. Classic to me do the best job of remastering older recordings especially if the pressing are free of defects but I wish they would try and get their hands on the Decca-London catalogue instead of wasting their skills on Everest.


Sir Eugene Goossens - Villa Lobos: The Little Train of the Caipira Product No: AEVC 3041Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Blows Doors

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, October 31, 2009 by Triodeotl This is a LP that can only be called one of the best as far as recording and sound. The stereo recording can only be described of the very highest quality. The performances are wonderful. So because of that this LP is highly recommended if you can get a LP with quiet surfaces.

The 1st LP that I received was incredibly noisy but was exchanged for another copy and this pressing is amongst the best that Classic has put out.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kije Suite / Shostakovich: Symphony no. 9 Product No: AEVC 3054Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Good stuff; nice cover too...

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 23, 2009 by Gerald This is a very fine record indeed; highly recommended. Sargent is good in the Shostakovich, but fantastic in the Prokofiev. He always had an affinity for the latter, think of his famous performance of Peter and the Wolf or the Classical Symphony, for instance. The sound is great, and even though my copy has some surface noise it is inconsequential.


Leopold Stokowski - Wagner Product No: AEVC 3070Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Leo always delivers.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, October 22, 2009 by Arturo Castaneda Good Everest recording. Stokowski conducts his arrangements with sensibility and heart, he was a superb conductor, if sometimes unappreciated by envious critics.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Respighi: Pines & Fountains of Rome Product No: AEVC 3051Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Outstanding audio dynamics in these grooves!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, April 15, 2009 by Miller Steel This is a recording that has more sound more music more life packed into these grooves than just about any 33rpm recordings I have in my collection. The music and performance are both a wonder to behold. The recording is of superior quality and was mastered incredibly well.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition/ Night on Bald Mountain Product No: AEVC 3053Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Great Sound & Interpretation

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 7, 2008 by John P. I am a huge fan of this piece in both orchestral and solo piano form. Do not let the above mention about this being done at a slower pace than the Reiner deter you from acquiring this disc! I have long enjoyed the Reiner and this is right up there with it. The orchestral color and presence are superb. A rare disc that contradicts Mr. Holt's dictum about having a disc in great sound and performance. If you need a Pictures and a Bald Mountain on LP go no further than this gem!


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 Product No: AEVC 3039Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

First class Tchaikovsky 5th!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, November 7, 2008 by John P. I have loved this music since I first started listening to classical music. It is simply one of the most enjoyable performances in great sound that I have ever heard. I will always love my Bernstein copy on Columbia and his USSR tour with the NYP from long ago and any number of Russian conductors, but just like a quote about another consumer product, you'd have to pry this LP from my cold dead hands to get it away from me.


Anatole Fistoulari - Khachaturian: Gayne Ballet Suite Product No: CHDD 2016
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDAD 24/96 24/192
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Wonderfully exciting and fun!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 19, 2008 by Richard L. I got this disc as I had always liked Khachaturian's Sabre Dance. I picked this version as the write-up on it here at Acoustic Sounds described it as a lively rendering of the work. Neither the write-up, the performance or the HDAD disc disappoint on that score. In fact, I'd say if anyone claims classical music is boring, hand them this one as they obviously haven't heard it! Energy, Vitality, Enthusiasm are how I'd describe it. Even the slow pieces ripple with a subtle sense of passion and life. Including a CD is a nice touch as it can be played in the car or in a portable. You'll want to hear the DVD-Audio when you can, though, for as much as the CD is convenient, the DVD-Audio flat-out rules for sound. I just love how strings, horns and percussion come to life on DVD-Audio. Check out the track Lezghinka for an example. Not only does the percussion come to life but the reverberations in the hall are also wonderfully presented. This disc is a definite "keeper".


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 Product No: AEVC 3034Q
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

great souns and music

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 26, 2007 by Anonymous great sound and music.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kije Suite / Shostakovich: Symphony no. 9 Product No: CHDD 2018
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDAD 24/96 24/192
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Why are there so few Hdad recordings.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, March 25, 2007 by Anonymous Sublime .What DVD audio promised to be. In a perfect world there would be more like this. Analogue and digital hand in hand. Hardware used meridian G98/568, Kef 105/3, Copland 402 hybrid.


Sir Malcolm Sargent - Respighi: Pines & Fountains of Rome Product No: CHDD 2015
Available: LimitedStock
Category: HDAD 24/96 24/192
Label: Classic Records (Everest)

Meridian 808 to the rescue!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, February 2, 2007 by Ralph A. Mazzeo, Jr. High Resolution recordings need high resolution players and cabling and for my money, the re-issues from Classic Records in the HDAD format are brilliantly executed. These Malcolm Sargent 35mm recordings of Respighi's most famous warhorses come vibrantly alive in 192/24 bit and the CD which accompanies it sounds equally enthralling. Classic Records, how about reissuingthe Gershwin and Ravel Works for Orchestra in remastered 2007 sound (even though they, too, sound magnificent on the Meridian 808 in 96/24 1998 sound! Enough said.......



Viewing 1 - 17 of 17 Products

Refine Your Search