The Jayhawks - Smile


American Recordings



Product No.:
AAME 90955
UPC: 602537909551
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  


or Add to Wishlist

The Jayhawks' Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music reissued

Each a deluxe 180-gram 2 LP edition; Smile first time on vinyl!

Remastered in April 2014 using original  analog sources whenever possible

Bonus tracks included; plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings!

Just as they've done with their earlier albums, the Jayhawks — the beloved Minnesota twang-rockers — have reissued their three 1997-2003 albums Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music as expanded double LP vinyl sets. Each features bonus tracks, fresh artwork and new liner notes. High-quality plating and 180-gram pressing by Quality Record Pressings ensures maximum fidelity!

The three albums were made after original Jayhawks co-leader Mark Olson left the band in 1995 and feature Gary Louris at the helm. Reviewers characterize their sound as more rock-oriented than their previous counterparts, particularly 2000's Smile," which was produced by Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper).

"In the mid-1980s, this Minneapolis band shared tavern stages with fellow hometown punk bands like the Replacements and Soul Asylum, dishing out a then-unique blend of country-rock that pre-dated 'alt country' by a decade. More than 15 years later, their sixth album was also their second without cofounder Mark Olson. Led by Gary Louris, the newfangled Jayhawks play pop music in the truest sense of the word, and Smile is another trademarked batch of their heartrending laments: hooks that you can't get out of your head ('I'm Gonna Make You Love Me'); melodies snatched off of '70s AM radio ('Mr. Wilson'); epic harmonies from the Big Star handbook ('What Led Me to This Town'); and even a modest attempt at Midwestern hip-hop ('Somewhere in Ohio'). Produced by Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd's The Wall), Smile is a tad slicker than 1997's Sound of Lies. But like its predecessor, this record's charm rests in a handful of dazzling ballads ('Better Days,' 'A Break in the Clouds' and 'Broken Harpoon') — polished, yes, but never overbearing." —

All of the original tracks on the three newest reissues were remastered in April 2014 by renowned mastering engineer Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC using original analog sources whenever possible.

Sound of Lies and Rainy Day Music were only originally released on vinyl in very limited quantities so their reissue is great news for vinyl fans. Also back on the market are deluxe reissues of the seminal Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass, both also plated and pressed by QRP.


LP 1:
Side 1
1. Smile
2. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
3. What Let Me To This Town
4. Somewhere in Ohio

LP 1:
Side 2
5. A Break in the Clouds
6. Queen of the World
7. Life Floats By
8. Broken Harpoon
9. Pretty Thing

LP 2:
Side 1
10. Mr. Wilson
11. (In My) Wildest Dreams
12. Better Days
13. Baby, Baby, Baby

LP 2:
Side 2 (Bonus Tracks)
14. Who Made You King
15. Gypsy In The Modd
16. A Part Of You (demo)
17. Life’s Little Ups And Downs (live)
18. Greta Garbo (demo)
19. Five Cornered Blues (demo)

Customer Reviews (2.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Low End Flatulence, Perhaps My copy?

posted on 01/06/2015
2 Stars
First let me say that I love this band and this particular album. Bob Ezrin expanded this band into new territory that would have crashed and burned most other bands. Well crafted songs that are extremely catchy and melodic! For my ears this vinyl release was done with the amount of care that Taco Bell takes in preparing their burritos. It looks and sounds like the Jayhawks but once you move into a minute of the LP, you hear all the dither, compression, and distortion that gives the low-end the appearance that it ate one of those badly made burritos the night before!!!

I am almost prepared to buy another copy and blame it on the pressing, but I am gun shy with the current care that these pressing plants take in their mass production of LP's. Until mastering and pressing learn the difference between dynamic range and loudness and ultimately undermine the supervision of the likes of these I-pod bred record company employees, our hobby is doomed to be as broken as the industry.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.