Various Artists - Footloose Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

 (15th Anniversary Collectors' Edition)





Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Numbered Limited Edition

Total download size: 2.2GB Total play length: 55:03

Cover art included, liner notes not included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original Sony Super Audio CD cutting masters.

1984's box-office cinema smash "Footloose" snared a 1985 Grammy nomination for Best Album of an Instrumental Score for Motion Pictures/TV, as well as a 1985 Oscar nomination for composers Kenny Loggins and Dean Pitchford for Best Original Song from a Motion Picture (the winner in that category that year was Stevie Wonder's "I Just Called To Say I Love You" from the film, "The Woman in Red."

The "Footloose" soundtrack spawned five hit singles, including the title track sung by Kenny Loggins, and spent four weeks at Billboard's No. 1 spot. Loggins thought the movie should've been called "A Snowball's Chance In Hell," because that's what he thought it had at the box office. Instead, Mr. Soundtrack scored yet another hit in line with "Caddyshack's" "I'm All Right" and "Danger Zone" from Top Gun.

Another hit single, with the funky "Lucky Star" style beat, was R&B singer Deniece Williams' "Let's Hear It For The Boy," another Oscar-nominated tune from the movie, which is a song of support for an underdog sort of man, a guy who sings off-key, who isn't too rich, or a good dresser, but counts him in for being a loving one-man show. And "Almost Paradise," is a wonderful classic '80's song. The slow love power ballad duet between Loverboy's Mike Reno and Heart's Ann Wilson, with its organ-like synths and pounding drums, is very well the first drop of rain that propelled Heart to its '80's success. 

1. Footloose - Kenny Loggins
2. Let's Hear it for the Boy - Deniece Williams
3. Almost Paradise - Mike Reno & Ann Wilson
4. Holding Out for a Hero - Bonnie Tyler
5. Dancing in the Sheets - Shalamar
6. I'm Free - Kenny Loggins
7. Somebody's Eyes - Karla Bonoff
8. The Girl Gets Around - Sammy Hagar
9. Moving Pictures - Never
10. Bang Your Head - Quiet Riot *Bonus
11. Hurts So Good - John Mellencamp *Bonus
12. Waiting for a Girl Like You - Foreigner *Bonus
13. Dancing in the Sheets - Shalamar 12 Remix *Bonus

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 04/26/2014
5 Stars
Reviewer: Chris
I own the original Redbook version of this album and was always impressed with its mix of great songs and impressive SQ.

Comparing the SQ between this DSD download and the original was ear opening to say the least thru my Meitner MA-1 DAC. The soundstage of the DSD version is much wider and information packed. Dynamic range seems through the roof too but unfortunately I have no way of confirming this for DSD files. For what its worth the measured DR of the Redbook version was a 10. Subjectively this one sounds far punchier in all the right places.

Highly Recommended

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.