John Coltrane - Coltrane

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Mastered from the original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray

Recorded over the course of three months in 1962, Coltrane was John Coltrane's third album for Impulse, but his first for the label devoted entirely to his regular working group. It was also the first album on any label to showcase what came to be known as the classic John Coltrane Quartet. That group – with McCoy Tyner on piano, Jimmy Garrison on bass and Elvin Jones on drums – established itself in its four years of existence as one of the most influential ensembles in jazz, and one of the most popular as well. Coltrane documents its genesis.

John Coltrane, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Paul Chambers, bass
Red Garland, piano
Jimmy Garrison, bass
Albert "Tootie" Heath, drums
Elvin Jones, drums
Sahib Shihab, alto saxophone
McCoy Tyner, piano


1. Out of This World
2. Soul Eyes
3. The Inch Worm
4. Tunji (Toon-gee)
5. Miles' Mode

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it