Journey - Greatest Hits

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
ALEG 84421
UPC: 886977844218

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP  

Journey was formed by Santana manager Walter “Herbie” Herbert in 1973 and found most success in the 1980s with classic rock tracks including “Don’t Stop Believing”, “Separate Ways”, “Faithfully” and “Open Arms”.

Their first albums, JourneyLook Into the Future and Next, were notable for their excellent musicianship but failed to secure the success they were hoping for. So Journey made an effort to move into more commercial waters, trying to replicate the successes of Foreigner and Boston. Steve Perry was recruited as vocalist and Infinity was released in 1978, catapulting them to platinum-edged stardom. Evolution and 1980's Departure did little to dent their success.

Escape, their seventh studio album, was their best yet and went nine-times platinum, spawning three Top 10 singles. The critics, however, gave Journey a mauling, accusing them of triviality and of being the worst kind of "corporate rock". Irrespective of the continuing derision of the critics, Journey released Frontiers in 1983 and it kept them in the high reaches of the charts.

After Frontiers, Steve Perry began to wrest the reins from Herbie Herbert, and 1986’s Raised On Radio was released. But a series of problems meant the supporting tour was short, and in 1987 an exhausted Perry walked away from the band.

Greatest Hits shows that Journey knew how to craft a pop song with memorable tunes like "Anyway You Want It" and "Don't Stop Believin'." "Wheel in the Sky" was one of the band's more arty singles, while "Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'" relied on a straight four-bar blues pattern, with Perry's vocals at their best. The band's power ballads gave them their biggest success, and are rightfully represented here: "Faithfully," "Open Arms," and "Send Her My Love." Another unlikely aspect further secured the band's success — you could actually dance to some of their stuff, especially "Anyway You Want It."

1. Only The Young
2. Don't Stop Believin'
3. Wheel In The Sky
4. Faithfully
5. I'll Be Alright Without You
6. Any Way You Want It
7. Ask The Lonely
8. Who's Crying Now
9. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)
10. Lights
11. Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'
12. Open Arms
13. Girl Can't Help It
14. Send Her My Love
15. Be Good To Yourself
16. When You Love A Woman