Dire Straits - Making Movies

In 1980, Dire Straits released their third album, Making Movies. This marked a move towards more complex arrangements and production which would continue for the remainder of the band's career until the group's dissolution in the 1990s. Featuring "Romeo and Juliet," which became one of the band's best-known chart hits, Making Movies saw the departure of David Knopfler while the recording of the album was still in progress.

1. Tunnel Of Love
2. Romeo And Juliet
3. Skateaway
4. Expresso Love
5. Hand In Hand
6. Solid Rock
7. Les Boys

Customer Reviews (4.33 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 05/12/2020
3 Stars
Reviewer: Brian
This is a great album but I was not impressed with the sound. I think my CD sounds better.

Great pressing

posted on 05/17/2013
5 Stars
Reviewer: Pete C
On the strength of how pleased I was with the treatment given by Bernie Grundman and Pallas on "Love over Gold" I acquired three additional Grundman/Pallas joint ventures - "the self titled "Dire Straits/Dire Straits", "Making Movies", and "Communique". Within the range of the differences of the musicality of the different albums all are fabulously presented by Mr. Grundman and Pallas. Dynamic sonics, great soundstage and effective placement - consistently done with respect to all four albums. If you like Dire Straits, then these four albums are great executions of each - and deliver the music in a way that seems to offer little or no room for improvement. Great pressings.

Their Best Album

posted on 05/29/2010
5 Stars
Reviewer: Howard Simon
I know a lot of people consider Brothers in Arms to be DS's "masterpiece," but in my view, this is by far the better record. Working with producer Jimmy Iovine for the first time, Knopfler seems to have set out intentionally to make a great Springsteen record--and he hit it out of the park! The songs are grand in sweep and cinematic in detail (hence the title), yet each song is suffused with a sense of warmth and humor that distinguishes the very best songcraft. (Listen the way he sings, "She's got the whole world in the city . ." in "Skateaway.") And both the musicianship and production are as good as it gets--Knopfler, bassist John Illsley and drummer Pick Withers are among the best at their respective instruments, and they hold nothing back here. And Iovine utilizes just the right number of stupid producer tricks to enhance the music without crushing it. And, as you might expect, the remastering and re-pressing are terrific and allow the music to shine. *Everything* went right here!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.