Prince - Sign O' The Times





Product No.:
ALEG 63771
UPC: 194398637716
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


Vinyl reissue of Prince's ninth studio album from 1987

Includes "Sign O' The Times," "If I Was Your Girlfriend" and "U Got The Look"

"I feel that we're on the brink of something. It is going to be strict and wild and pretty." — Prince, 1986

More than any other release in his four-decade-long recording career, Prince's iconic double album Sign
O' The Times
captured the artist in a period of complete reinvention.

Primarily recorded between the end of 1985 and beginning of 1987, the era saw the dissolution of his band The Revolution, the end of his engagement to Susannah Melvoin, and the creation (and ultimate abandonment) of the albums Dream Factory, Camille, and Crystal Ball. By the end of that period of transformation, Prince emerged with one of his most urgent and wide-ranging releases to date — an epochal double album that would be hailed as a creative, critical, and commercial triumph.

The album produced four commercially-released singles, "Sign O' The Times" (which preceded the album), "If I Was Your Girlfriend," "U Got The Look" and "I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man," as well as two promotional releases, "Hot Thing" (in the USA only) and "The Cross" (in South Africa only).

The album reached No. 6 on the U.S. Billboard Top Pop Albums Chart, and No. 4 on the Billboard Top Black Albums Chart. The album was certified platinum-selling by the RIAA three months after its release.

Side A
1. Sign O' The Times
2. Play In The Sunshine
3. Housequake
4. The Ballad Of Dorothy Parker

Side B
1. It
2. Starfish And Coffee
3. Slow Love
4. Hot Thing
5. Forever In My Life

Side C
1. U Got The Look
2. If I Was Your Girlfriend
3. Strange Relationship
4. I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man

Side D
1. The Cross
2. It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night
3. Adore

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it