The Doors - L.A. Woman

 (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 3 CDs + LP)





Product No.:
AELE 659055
UPC: 603497843374
In Stock

Multi-Format Box Sets

No. of Discs: 4
Note: 180 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Hybrid Multichannel SACD
45 RPM Vinyl Record

The Doors L.A. Woman 50th Anniversary Numbered Limited Edition 3CD and 1LP set!

Original 1971 stereo mix, remastered on CD and 180-gram LP

Includes two hours of newly remixed audio from the original multitrack session tapes

Experience the progression of each song as it developed in the studio!

The Doors found their mojo (and Mr. Mojo Risin') in November 1970 as they recorded L.A. Woman during six days at the Workshop, the band's rehearsal space on Santa Monica Boulevard. A success both critically and commercially, the album was certified double-platinum and contains some of the band's most enduring music, including the Top 20 hit "Love Her Madly," "Riders On The Storm," and the title track.

To commemorate the album's 50-year anniversary, Rhino keeps on risin' with a 3-CD/1-LP set. L.A. Woman: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original album newly remastered by The Doors' longtime engineer and mixer, Bruce Botnick, two bonus discs of unreleased studio outtakes, and the stereo mix of the original album on 180-gram virgin vinyl. The music will also be available from digital and streaming services the same day, as will a new Dolby Atmos mix of the original album by Botnick.

For this new collection, the original album has been expanded with more than two hours of unreleased recordings taken from the sessions for L.A. Woman, allowing the listener to experience the progression of each song as it developed in the studio. An early demo for "Hyacinth House," recorded at Robby Krieger's home studio in 1969, is also included.

The outtakes feature Jim Morrison, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, and Ray Manzarek working in the studio with two additional musicians. The first was rhythm guitarist Marc Benno, who worked with Leon Russell in The Asylum Choir. The other was bassist Jerry Scheff, who was a member of Elvis Presley's TCB band.

In the studio, Botnick says the band took a more organic approach to recording instead of starting and stopping repeatedly to achieve technical perfection. "The previously unreleased reels here — serial takes of 'The Changeling,' 'Love Her Madly,' 'Riders On The Storm,' and 'L.A. Woman' — depict a band obsessed with groove while executing turns and flourishes with the precision of a well-drilled soul combo...The idea was to go from song to song, to let it flow."

Among the outtakes of album tracks, you can also hear the band joyously ripping through the kinds of classic blues songs that Morrison once described as "original blues." There are great takes of Junior Parker's "Mystery Train," John Lee Hooker's "Crawling King Snake," Big Joe Williams' "Baby Please Don't Go," and "Get Out Of My Life Woman," Lee Dorsey's funky 1966 classic, written by his producer Allen Toussaint.

In the collection's extensive liner notes, veteran rock journalist David Fricke explores the whirlwind making of the album, which would be the last with Morrison, who died in Paris a few months after its release. "Morrison may never have come back to The Doors," he writes. "But with his death, L.A. Woman became rebirth, achievement, and finale, all at once. It's the blues too — original blues, as Morrison promised. Fifty years later, there is still nothing like it."

Numbered, limited edition
50th Annniversary Deluxe Edition
180-gram virgin vinyl LP
Original 1971 stereo mix newly remastered by Bruce Botnick
CD: Original 1971 stereo mix newly remastered by Bruce Botnick
Two bonus CDs featuring unreleased studio outtakes
More than two hours of unreleased recordings
Early 1969 demo of "Hyacinth House"
Extensive liner notes by David Fricke
12x12 hardcover book packaging
Made in Germany


Side A
1. The Changeling
2. Love Her Madly
3. Been Down So Long
4. Cars Hiss By My Window
5. L.A. Woman
Side B
1. L'America
2. Hyacinth House
3. Crawling King Snake
4. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)
5. Riders On The Storm

CD 1
1. The Changeling (2021 Remaster)
2. Love Her Madly (2021 Remaster)
3. Been Down So Long (2021 Remaster)
4. Cars Hiss By My Window (2021 Remaster)
5. L.A. Woman (2021 Remaster)
6. L'America (2021 Remaster)
7. Hyacinth House (2021 Remaster)
8. Crawling King Snake (2021 Remaster)
9. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) [2021 Remaster]
10. Riders On The Storm (2021 Remaster)
11. Hyacinth House (Demo) [2021 Remaster]
12. Riders On The Storm (Sunset Sound Demo)

CD 2
1. The Changeling (L.A. Woman Sessions)
2. Love Her Madly (L.A. Woman Sessions)
3. Riders On The Storm (L.A. Woman Sessions)
4. L.A. Woman, Pt. 1 (L.A. Woman Sessions)

CD 3
1. L.A. Woman, Pt. 2 (L.A. Woman Sessions)
2. She Smells So Nice (L.A. Woman Sessions)
3. Rock Me Baby (L.A. Woman Sessions)
4. Mr. Mojo Risin' (L.A. Woman Sessions)
5. Baby Please Don't Go (L.A. Woman Sessions)
6. L.A. Woman, Pt. 3 (L.A. Woman Sessions)
7. Been Down So Long (L.A. Woman Sessions)
8. Get Out Of My Life Woman (L.A. Woman Sessions)
9. Crawling King Snake (L.A. Woman Sessions)
10. The Bastard Son Of Jimmy & Mama Reed (Cars Hiss By My Window) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
11. Been Down So Long II (L.A. Woman Sessions)
12. Mystery Train (L.A. Woman Sessions)
13. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) [L.A. Woman Sessions]

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it