Morphine - Cure For Pain

 (Numbered Limited Edition )


Run Out Groove



Product No.:
UPC: 081227879648

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

Newly expanded 180-gram 2LP edition with previously unreleased tracks!

Remastered for maximum fidelity

Sourced from the original master DAT tapes for the first time

Deluxe gatefold tip-on style jacket

Individually numbered and strictly limited based on preorders

One of the most unique, original and unusual rock bands to burst onto the alternative scene in the 90s, Morphine was originally formed by vocalist/bassist Mark Sandman, saxophonist Dana Colley and drummer Jerome Deupree (later replaced by Billy Conway) in Cambridge, Mass in 1989. They expertly combined blues, jazz and rock elements into a very distinct style, anchored by Sandman's deep, crooning, beat-style vocals. Rather than having an electric guitar as the focal point like most rock bands, the trio's sound was built around Sandman's two-string electric bass (often deployed with a slide) and Colley's growling, baritone sax which was dubbed as "low-rock."

The band enjoyed critical acclaim but saw mixed results commercially. They did enjoy higher profile success overseas, especially in Belgium, Portugal France and Australia where they were featured on music television programming frequently and filled much larger venues. After 5 studio albums and extensive touring, Morphine disbanded after Mark tragically died of a heart attack performing on stage at the Giardini del Principe in Palestrina, Italy. Surviving members have soldiered on in various incarnations, the most recent being the Vapors of Morphine. Cure For Pain is the band's second album for Rykodisc, originally released September 14, 1993. Jerome Deupree, quit due to health problems during the recording of the album and was replaced by Billy Conway. The tracks "Sheila" and "In Spite of Me" were prominently featured on the soundtrack of the 1994 independent film Spanking the Monkey. The video for "Thursday" also appeared on an episode of Beavis and Butt-head. The track "Buena" also appears in the first season of The Sopranos and in the Daria episode "The Teachings of Don Jake."

In 2014, the album placed eighth on the Alternative Nation site's "Top 10 Underrated ‘90s Alternative Rock Albums" list. As of 1995, it has sold 107,000 copies in the US and more than 300,000 copies worldwide. As
of 2017 combined sales of Cure for Pain and Yes are 661,000 sold copies in the US.

Side A
1. Dawna
2. Buena
3. I’m Free Now
4. All Wrong
5. Candy
6. A Head With Wings
7. In Spite Of Me

Side B
1. Thursday
2. Cure For Pain
3. Mary Won’t You Call My Name?
4. Let’s Take A Trip Together
5. Sheila
6. Miles Davis’ Funeral

Side C
1. Mile High
2. Bo’s Veranda
3. All Wrong
4. Third Stone From The Sun
5. Down Love’s Tributaries
6. Miles Davis’ Funeral

Side D
1. I Can Do That
2. Kerouac
3. I’m Free Now
4. Groovy Beat
5. My Brain (Full Length Version)
6. Untitled Spoken Word Piece
7. A Married Woman
8. Pizza Hut Variation #2