The Shangri-Las - Leader Of The Pack





Product No.:
ACLY 123
UPC: 506076744083
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

2020 edition remastered and reissued

Heavyweight vinyl reissue of the seminal New York girl group's debut album produced by George "Shadow" Morton for Red Bird Records. Few girl groups of the 1960s can lay claim to being as influential as The Shangri-Las. Eschewing the glitz'n'glamour of their Motown contemporaries, the group's melodramatic songs and tough girl image — often at odds with lead singer Mary's tremulous vocals have resonated across the decades in the recordings of Blondie, Amy Winehouse and, latterly, Bat For Lashes.

Comprising sisters Betty and Mary Weiss and twins Marge and Mary Ann Ganser, the group formed in high school in Queens, NYC in 1963 and made their Red Bird debut with producer "Shadow" Morton's opus "Remember (Walking In The Sand)." Between 1964 and 1966 they charted 11 U.S. Hot 100 singles. Recorded to capitalize on their U.S. No.1 death disc classic "Leader Of The Pack" (penned by Ellie Greenwich & Jeff Barry), Side 1 of this mono 12-tracker brings The Shangs' distinctive sound and penchant for tear-stained heartbreak to the fore with tracks such as "Easier To Cry" and "What Is Love," while Side 2 includes rough'n'ready live recordings of the Isley Brothers' "Twist And Shout," the Phil Upchurch stomper "You Can't Sit Down" and, harking back to their high school roots, The Chantels' "Maybe."

The album's opener, "Give Him A Great Big Kiss," was immediately spun off as a single, peaking in the U.S. at No. 18 in early 1965. In the wake of producer George Morton's death earlier this year this is a timely reissue by one of pop's best loved girl groups and foremost exponents of teenage angst.

Side A
1. Give Him A Great Big Kiss
2. Leader of the Pack (Mono)
3. Bull Dog
4. It's Easier To Cry
5. What Is Love?
6. Remember (Walkin' in the Sand)

Side B
1. Twist And Shout
2. Maybe
3. So Much In Love
4. Shout
2. Good Night, My Love / Shout (Reprise)
6. You Can't Sit Down

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it