Wilhelm Kempff - Beethoven: Piano Concertos


Deutsche Grammophon



Product No.:
CDGJ 9158 SA
EAN: 4988031354865
In Stock

SHM Single Layer SACDs

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Wilhem Kempff has without doubt been regarded as one of the great pianists of the middle and latter part of the 20th century. Although not escaping the prevalent trend to be pigeon-holed into particular repertoire ... one thinks of Schubert, Schumann and Beethoven for example ....his particular strength of pellucid tone-colouring enhanced many works and much repertoire.

He recorded the Beethoven concertos twice complete, in the 1950s and early 1960s, as well as 78s of the last three concertos in the late 1940s. On all three occasions the recording company was the same, Deutsche Grammophon.

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD.

• Super High Material Super Audio CD
• SHM-SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• Single-Layer Stereo SHM-SACD, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This Single-Layer SHM-SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it