Curtis Mayfield - Keep On Keeping On: Curtis Mayfield Studio Albums 1970-1974






Product No.:
ARHI 573931
UPC: 603497855797
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 4
Note: 180 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl 4LP box set!

The first four funk-soul slabs from the ground-floor layer of the conscious groove

Curtis Mayfield was an American soul, rhythm and blues and funk singer, songwriter, and record producer. He is highly regarded as a pioneer of funk and of politically conscious African-American Music. He was also a multi-instrumentalist who played the guitar, bass, piano, saxophone, and drums.

On February 22, Rhino will issue a collected albums set, Keep On Keeping On: Curtis Mayfield Studio Albums 1970-1974, encompassing four 180-gram LPs. The collection will feature newly remastered sets.

Mayfield earned popularity by way of his affiliation with The Impressions. Some of their top hits were "Keep On Pushing," "It's All Right," and "People Get Ready." OF course, The Impressions left behind a wealth of hits, enough to fill "best of" collections. But eventually, Curtis Mayfield outgrew the band and moved into a successful solo career that jump-started with the release of his debut, and really hit his stride with the Superfly soundtrack, from which "Freddie's Dead," and "Superfly" both charted high. From there, Mayfield released 16 more studio sets until his death in 1999 at the young age of 57.

LP 1
(Don't Worry) If There's Hell Below We're All Going to Go [Remastered]
The Other Side of Town (Remastered)
The Makings of You (Remastered)
We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue (Remastered)
Move on Up (Remastered)
Miss Black America (Remastered)
Wild and Free (Remastered)
Give It Up (Remastered)

LP 2
Get Down (Remastered)
Keep On Keeping On (Remastered)
Underground (Remastered)
We Got to Have Peace (Remastered)
Beautiful Brother of Mine (Remastered)
Now You're Gone (Remastered)
Love to Keep You in Mind (Remastered)

LP 3
Back to the World (Remastered)
Future Shock (Remastered)
Right on for the Darkness (Remastered)
If I Were Only a Child Again (Remastered)
Can't Say Nothin' (Remastered)
Keep On Trippin' (Remastered)
Future Song (Love a Good Woman, Love a Good Man) [Remastered]

LP 4
Ain't Got Time (Remastered)
Sweet Exorcist (Remastered)
To Be Invisible (Remastered)
Power to the People (Remastered)
Kung Fu (Remastered)
Suffer (Remastered)
Make Me Believe In You (Remastered)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it