Alison Moyet - Hoodoo

 (2009/2016 Remaster)


BMG Rights Management



Product No.:
ABMG 96045
UPC: 190296960451
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Alison Moyet's outstanding 1991 third solo album

180-gram LP, remastered from the original tapes

Includes the hit single "This House"

"On her third post-Yaz release, songstress Alison Moyet puts her bluesy vocal abilities to good use on possibly her most soulful collection yet. She hasn't lost her knack for breezy, adult pop, evident on the lilting, melodic 'Wishing You Were Here' (with Kirsty MacColl lending some assistance on backing vocals) and 'It Won't Be Long,' but tracks like the horn-driven 'Footsteps' and high-energy title song form the core of Hoodoo.

"With the lyrics squarely focused on relationships, Moyet is often brassy and assertive as on 'Back Where I Belong,' which features a catchy electro-reggae beat and contributions from ex-Fine Young Cannibals Andy Cox and David Steele. She's still more than capable of expressing heart-aching vulnerability, though, especially on the gorgeous 'This House,' where a split-second pause gives way to her passionately imploring, 'Who will take your place?' Other highlights include a pair of gospel-flavored numbers, the jumpy 'Rise' (on which she adds harmonica) and the anthemic closer, 'Find Me.' It all makes Hoodoo another strong offering from the distinctive Moyet." — AllMusic


1. Footsteps
2. It Won't Be Long
3. This House
4. Rise
5. Wishing You Were Here
6. (Meeting With My) Main Man
7. Hoodoo
8. Back Where I Belong
9. My Right A.R.M.
10. Never Too Late
11. Find Me

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it