Jason Isbell - Sirens Of The Ditch


New West Records



Product No.:
AWST 5000
UPC: 607396500024
In Stock

Vinyl Record

Jason Isbell's 2007 solo debut album, now on vinyl!

Jason Isbell grew up in a family of musicians, he absorbed everything he heard and began channeling it into guitar at age 6 and piano at 12. Isbell was one of three frontmen for the critically-acclaimed Drive-By Truckers (DBT) — and although fans may have been shocked by his leaving the band, once you hear his solo 2007 debut Sirens Of The Ditch (which was co-produced by Isbell and DBT's Patterson Hood) it will only confirm that Isbell has his own unique voice. Musicians joining Isbell on the album include DBT's Shonna Tucker (bass) and Brad Morgan (drums) with cameos from Patterson Hood, his father David Hood, Spooner Oldham, John Neff and more.

Recorded at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals (Aretha Franklin, Duane Allman, Otis Redding), Sirens Of The Ditch is a diverse collection of songs that incorporates elements of rock, blues and soul music into a heartfelt mix of songs that favor piano and pedal steel over buzzing guitars — although, don't worry, there's a fair share of overdriven amps as well. "A lot of old soul musicians came through here in the late '60s and '70s and helped define the Muscle Shoals sound," the lifelong Alabamian explains, "so that influence was always in my environment, but on this record I really tried to capture that."


1. Brand New Kind Of Actress
2. Down In A Hole
3. Try
4. Chicago Promenade
5. Dress Blues
6. Grown
7. Hurricanes And Hand Grenades
8. In A Razor Town
9. Shotgun Wedding
10. The Magician
11. The Devil Is My Running Mate

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it