J. Roddy Walston & The Business - Destroyers Of The Soft Life


ATO Records



Product No.:
AATO 6113
UPC: 880882306113
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

White vinyl, gatefold jacket

Limited time album download included

J. Roddy Walston & The Business has melded engaging, melodic songwriting with sharp observations about American culture on Destroyers of the Soft Life, their new album out now.

Produced by studio veteran Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, Built To Spill, Father John Misty) and mixed by M. Allen Parker (Dan Auerbach, Sheryl Crow), Destroyers of the Soft Life began two years ago when Rod Walston (lead singer / guitarist / piano), Billy Gordon (guitar), Logan Davis (bass) and Steve Colmus (drums) bought space in a Richmond, Virigina WWII era bomb shelter turned lumber yard. The foursome gutted and subsequently spent seven months transforming it into their own recording studio. As they put down roots Walston also became a father for the first time, inspiring lyrics that take an unflinching look at family dynamics and parental motivations.

"We had never been a band where we pretended that it's 1965," Walston said. "Loud rock and roll music has become less relevant because it's just been on a loop," he says. "If there was any rule on this record, it was, let's be a part of music right now. I want to be part of living music in this moment."

1. You Know Me Better
2. Blade Of Truth
3. Numbers
4. Ways And Means
5. Heart Is Free
6. I Called You
7. The Wanting
8. Bad Habits
9. Bleed Out
10. Burn Black

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it