Surgical Meth Machine - Surgical Meth Machine (SMM)

 (Limited Edition)


Nuclear Blast



Product No.:
ANUB 3680
UPC: 727361368012
Limited Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 140 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

140-gram gatefold double LP

Surgical Meth Machine is the bipolar album this bipolar world demands, a rollercoaster ride through demented fever dreams, chillingly morose melodicism, and breakneck acceleration toward impossible speeds and gasoline soaked thrills, all from the always-deliciously-terrible-to-taste mind of Ministry's Al Jourgensen.

The declaration of war against empty criticism that is "I'm Sensitive" sets the tone for the first half of the album, as tracks such as "Tragic Alert" and "Rich People Problems" blast by like a thousand meteors hurtling into the sun. In stark contrast, sublime songs such as "Just Go Home," "Just Keep Going" and the comedown album closer "I'm Invisible" are among Jourgensen's most diverse work of his 35-year strong career.

The album was crafted off-and-on over a period of 12 months, mostly in the Cuban-American singer and multi-instrumentalist's Burbank, California studio with longtime engineer Sam D'Ambruoso. Jourgensen's longtime guitarist and friend, the late Mike Scaccia, served as partial inspiration for what would become Surgical Meth Machine. Scaccia first appeared on a Ministry album in 1992, Psalm 69, one of a string of commercial and critical breakthrough albums that also included the industrial/rock standard "The Land Of Rape And Honey" (1986) and "The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste" (1989).

Surgical Meth Machine rewards listeners with massive highs and soul soothing lows, all without the side effects of true chemical indulgence.


Side A
01. I'm Sensitive
02. Tragic Alert
03. I Want More
04. Rich People Problems
05. I Don't Wanna
06. Smash And Grab

Side B
01. Unlistenable
02. Gates Of Steel
03. Spudnik
04. Just Go Home
05. Just Keep Going
06. I'm Invisible

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it