Jeff Austin - The Simple Truth

 (+ Download Code)


Yep Roc Records



Product No.:
AYEP 2393
UPC: 634457239319

Vinyl Record & CD

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Download Card offer subject to expiration.

Influential singer-songwriter Jeff Austin stretches out musically on his solo debut!

180-gram LP features "What The Night Brings"

Includes CD and full album download

Jeff Austin has been playing professionally for nearly 20 years, most of them as the vocalist/mandolinist of the game-changing bluegrass jam act Yonder Mountain String Band. Austin has long harbored urges to stretch out musically-and even cast a few pop hooks of his own. He finally makes the leap on The Simple Truth, his solo debut (releasing Feb. 10th, 2015) and maiden voyage with Yep Roc Records.

Accompanying him is an eager troupe of trustworthy fellow travelers chartered as the Jeff Austin Band: Danny Barnes (of Bad Livers fame) on banjo, guitars and vocals; Ross Martin on guitars; and Eric Thorin on basses and vocals, with North Mississippi Allstar Cody Dickinson on drums, percussion and electric washboard. The result is an album that truly reflects Austin's goal of crafting a sonic document unconstrained by the limitations jamgrass, newgrass or whatever other names it wears. The Simple Truth captures the energy and excitement of that party, as well as the quiet moments of contemplation that happen after guests leave. If one must give it a label, Americana will do, but he prefers to call it, simply, "American music, written from my experience as a 40-year-old guy in America."

1. Side 1
2. 1. What The Night Brings
3. 2. Simple Truth
4. 3. Scrapbook Pages
5. 4. Fiddling Around
6. 5. 15 Steps
Side 2
8. 6. Over and Over
9. 7. Gatling Gun
10. 8. Run Down
11. 9. Shake Me Up
12. 10. Falling Stars

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it