Bob Dylan And The Band - The Basement Tapes: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 11

 (Raw Edition)

Total download size: 1.20GB Total play length: 2:01:37

2016 Grammy Award winner - Best Historical Album

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Featuring Bob Dylan and The Band

Chronicling Dylan's legendary 1967 sessions with The Band!

Compiled from meticulously restored original tapes

The Basement Tapes Raw is a set of 38 highlights from Bob Dylan's legendary 1967 recording sessions with members of his touring ensemble who would later achieve their own fame as The Band.

Having transformed music and culture during the early 1960s, Dylan reached unparalleled heights across 1965 and 1966 through the release of three historic albums, the watershed single "Like A Rolling Stone," a controvversial and legendary "electric" performance at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival and tours of the U.S., Britain and Europe. Dylan's mercurial rise and prodigious outpouring of work stopped in July 1966 when he was reported to have been in a serious motorcycle accident in upstate New York.

While recovering, Dylan ensconced himself, along with Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and later, Levon Helm, in the basement of a small house dubbed "Big Pink" by the group, in West Saugerties, New York. This collective, which would come to be known as Bob Dylan and The Band, recorded more than a hundred songs over the next several months including traditional covers, wry and humorous ditties, off-the-cuff performances and most important, dozens of newly-written Bob Dylan songs, including future classics "I Shall Be Released," "The Mighty Quinn," "This Wheel's On Fire" and "You Ain't Going Nowhere."

When rumors and rare acetates of some of these recordings began surfacing, it created a curiosity strong enough to fuel an entirely new segment of the music business: the bootleg record. In 1969, an album mysteriously titled Great White Wonder began showing up in record shops around the country carrying this new contraband Dylan music.

The actual recordings remained commercially unavailable until 1975 when Columbia Records released a scant 16 of them on The Basement Tapes album (that album also included eight new songs by The Band, without Dylan).

A critical and popular success, The Basement Tapes went Top 10 in the U.S. and U.K., with John Rockwell of The New York Times calling it "one of the greatest albums in the history of American popular music." Still, over the years the songs on The Basement Tapes have haunted and perplexed fans — Dylan's music from the summer of 1967 began seeping into the fabric of popular culture, penetrating the souls of music lovers everywhere. With each passing year, more and more fans sought out this rare contraband, desperate to hear this new music from the legendary Bob Dylan.

On The Basement Tapes Raw. Garth Hudson worked closely with Canadian music archivist and producer Jan Haust to restore the deteriorating tapes to pristine sound, with much of this music preserved digitally for the first time.

Also, unlike the official 1975 release, these performances are presented as close as possible to the way they were originally recorded and sounded back in the summer of 1967.

1. Open the Door Homer
2. Odds and Ends
3. Million Dollar Bash
4. One Too Many Mornings
5. I Don't Hurt Anymore
6. Ain't No More Cane
7. Crash on the Levee
8. Tears of Rage
9. Dress It up, Better Have it All
10. I'm Not There
11. Johnny Todd
12. Too Much of Nothing
13. Quinn the Eskimo
14. Get Your Rocks Off
15. Santa-Fe
16. Silent Weekend
17. Clothes Line Saga
18. Please Mrs. Henry
19. I Shall be Released
20. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
21. Lo and Behold!
22. Minstrel Boy
23. Tiny Montgomery
24. All You Have to do is Dream
25. Goin' to Acapulco
26. 900 Miles from My Home
27. One for the Road
28. I'm Alright
29. Blowin' in the Wind
30. Apple Suckling Tree
31. Nothing Was Delivered
32. Folsom Prison Blues
33. This Wheel's on Fire
34. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
35. Don't Ya Tell Henry
36. Baby, Won't You be My Baby
37. Sign on the Cross
38. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it