The Paul Butterfield Blues Band - Golden Butter - The Best Of The Paul Butterfield Blues Band





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 1.60GB Total play length: 1:21:17

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Along with fellow superstars Jefferson Airplane, Steve Miller Band and The Grateful Dead, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band was one of the first powerhouse rock acts of the '60s. With their phenomenal brand of Chicago blues music unlike any band before or after them, they helped to usher in the progressive underground rock movement.

With its core line-up of Paul Butterfield (harmonica/lead vocalist), Mike Bloomfield (guitar), Elvin Bishop (guitar), Sam Lay (drums), Mark Nataflin (keyboards) and Jerome Arnold (bass), this amazing band truly delivered many legendary blues and rock recordings during their successful reign at Elektra Records.

It was not uncommon to hear radio stations play entire sides of their revolutionary albums during the dawn of FM and underground radio. Blues masterpieces of the era still resonate today as Paul Butterfield and Co. unleashed classic signature tunes like "Born In Chicago," "Look Over Yonders Wall," "Mellow Down Easy" and the mammoth blues prog-rocker "East West."

Later albums would reveal even further extensions of the blues rock genre with classic renditions of Marvin Gaye's "One More Heartache," Michael Nesmith's "Mary Mary," plus more of their own prolific standards like "Last Hope's Gone," "Morning Blues" and of course their Woodstock 1969 anthem "Love March."

In 1972, Elektra awarded The Paul Butterfield Blues Band the very extensive and amazing 'Greatest Hits' package Golden Butter which collected 18 of their most important songs from their legendary albums released from 1965-1972. Right from the start you get a healthy serving from their first monster release The Paul Butterfield Blues Band along with more solid tunes from other fine albums such as East West, The Resurrection of Pigboy Crabshaw, In My Own Dream, Live and Keep On Moving.

From the early blues rock sounds of "Shake Your Money-Maker" and the lengthy live epic "Driftin' and Driftin'" to later day radio favorites such as "Blind Leading the Blind," "One More Mile" and the pivotal Willie Dixon favorite "Spoonful," this collection truly displays the creative importance of the iconic and influential Paul Butterfield Blues Band.


1. Born In Chicago
2. Shake Your Money-Maker
3. Mellow Down Easy
4. Our Love Is Drifting
5. Mystery Train
6. Look Over Yonders Wall
7. East-West
8. Walkin’ Blues
9. Get Out of My Life, Woman
10. Mary, Mary
11. Spoonful
12. One More Mile
13. One More Heartache
14. Last Hope’s Gone
15. In My Own Dream
16. Love March
17. Driftin’ and Driftin’
18. Blind Leading the Blind

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it