Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

of Montreal - Cherry Peel

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
ABARN 20089
UPC: 032862008917

Vinyl Record

Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

Full album download included

"A dream-like phantasmagoria reins supreme, with delectable Kinks-infused melodies ... terrific debut." — Stereogum

Of Montreal's debut album, Cherry Peel, now available from Bar None Records on LP w/ full album download card.

"Cherry Peel is one of the most unabashedly pretty releases from (the) group, and, in fact, stands apart from most everything in the pop scene due to its simple, unassuming innocence. The vocals of songwriter Kevin Barnes are achingly heartfelt and puppyish, and his songs seem to spring directly out of childhood, or at least seem touched by a childlike yearning, so much so that you can't help feeling all fuzzy inside and perhaps desirous of hugging someone, maybe your mom, after hearing them. And the songs are uniformly expert: 'In Dreams I Dance With You' comes across like a cupid-struck Pinocchio's sweet longing; 'Montreal' is a wasteland ballad worthy of Neil Young; and 'Don't Ask Me to Explain' will make your heart palpitate and bubble up into your throat it is so unpretentiously euphonic." — AllMusic


1. Everything Disappears When You Come Around
2. Baby
3. I Can’t Stop Your Memory
4. When You’re Loved Like You Are
5. Don’t Ask Me To Explain
6. In Dreams I Dance With You
7. Sleeping In The Beetle Bug
8. Tim I Wish You Were Born A Girl
9. Montreal
10. This Feeling (Dereks Theme)
11. I Was Watching Your Eyes
12. Springtime Is The Season
13. At Night Trees Aren’t Sleeping
14. You’ve Got A Gift

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it