David Abel/ Julie Steinberg - Debussy/Brahms/Bartok: Sonatas For Violin And Piano


Wilson Audiophile Recordings



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 2.80GB Total play length: 47:07

DSD file created from original analog master tapes

Cover art and liner notes included

"This is perhaps the most exquisitely natural recording ever made. All in all, this Wilson record is a triumph of the analog recording art." — International Audio Review

David Abel, violin. Julie Steinberg, piano. Perhaps the most transcendent of David Wilson's brilliant recordings, this remarkable album of solo violin accompanied by piano comes as close to putting the two performers in the listening room as any ever made, writes The Absolute Sound, of Sonatas for Violin & Piano.

Recorded on Wilson's Ultramaster Recorder, built by John Curl, and using a spaced pair of Schoeps microphones driving vaccum tube electronics, the recording has a close perspective that heightens transparency and engagement as well as wonderfully capturing the beautiful tonality of Abel's Guarnerius violin and Steinberg's Hamburg Steinway without exaggering their size.

"The duo performs these works as if they are one." — The Absolute Sound, July/August 2013


1. Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78 - I. Vivace ma non troppo
2. Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78 - II. Adagio
3. Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78 - III. Allegro molto moderato
4. Violin Sonata in G Minor - I. Allegro vivo
5. Violin Sonata in G Minor - II. Intermede - Fantastique et leger
6. Violin Sonata in G Minor - III. Finale
7. Roman nepi tancok (Romanian Folk Dances), BB 68 (arr. for violin and piano)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it