Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Various Artists - Pay Close Attention: XL Recordings

 (Limited Edition 4LP + DVD + Poster)


XL Records



Product No.:
AXLR 40637
UPC: 634904063719
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record & DVD

No. of Discs: 5


or Add to Wishlist

Quadruple-LP box set comes packaged with a DVD and poster

Pay Close Attention is a compilation album documenting the first 25 years of British Independent record label XL Recording. The vinyl compiles important music from the label's illustrious discography and includes songs from Radiohead, M.I.A., the White Stripes, Vampire Weekend, the Prodigy, the xx, Adele, Tyler the Creator, Jai Paul, Gil Scott-Heron, Basement Jaxx, the Horrors, Devendra Banhart, Basement Jaxx, and many more.

The compilation gets its title from a Kool Keith sample on The Prodigy's 1992 classic "Out Of Space." It's a line that XL founder Richard Russell says "set the blueprint" for the label's ethos. "XL Recordings is a collaborative endeavour, and many people have contributed to its evolution," Russell says. "Part 1 of this compilation are the roots of XL; underground music, made for DJs. These roots are still growing. Part 2 features some of the singular talents who have taken the label further than we ever envisioned. There is no unifying genre; hopefully the thread of originality is evident though."

Side 1
1. DJs Take Control – SL2
2. Out Of Space – The Prodigy
3. Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix) – Awesome 3
4. Sweet Harmony – Liquid

Side 2
5. Piper – Jonny L
6. Gabriel (Live Garage Version) – Roy Davis Jr. feat Peven Everett
7. Destiny – Dem 2

Side 3
8. Anytime – Nu-Birth
9. Jump N’ Shout – Basement Jaxx
10. I Luv U – Dizzee Rascal
11. Igloo – Wiley

Side 4
12. Hater – Various Production
13. Talkin The Hardest – Giggs
14. All Under One Roof Raving – Jamie XX

Side 5
15. Firestarter – Prodigy
16. Fuck The Pain Away – Peaches
17. Seven Nation Army – The White Stripes
18. I Feel Just Like A Child – Devendra Banhart
19. Once Around The Block – Badly Drawn Boy

Side 6
20. Seventeen Years – Ratatat
21. Paper Planes – M.I.A.
22. The Eraser – Thom Yorke
23. New York Is Killing Me – Gil Scott-Heron

Side 7
24. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi – Radiohead
25. Yonkers – Tyler, The Creator
26. Sea Within A Sea – The Horrors
27. BTSTU (Edit) – Jai Paul

Side 8
28. Please Forgive My Heart – Bobby Womack
29. Angels – The xx
30. Too Much - Sampha
31. Step – Vampire Weekend
32. Easy Easy – King Krule
33. Rolling In The Deep – Adele

Bonus DVD
1. Firestarter – Prodigy
2. Where’s Your Head At – Basement Jaxx
3. Fell In Love With A Girl – The White Stripes
4. Fix Up, Look Sharp – Dizzee Rascal
5. BirdFlu – M.I.A.
6. A-Punk – Vampire Weekend
7. Lotus Flower – Radiohead
8. I’m New Here – Gil Scott-Heron
9. Yonkers – Tyler, The Creator
10. Someone Like You – Adele (Live From The Brits 2011)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it